Extraction très efficace de l'artémisinine par sonication

L'artémisinine peut être extraite efficacement en utilisant la sonication à haute performance. L'extraction par ultrasons donne des rendements très élevés d'artémisinine en utilisant des solvants doux. Le processus d'extraction par ultrasons est considérablement accéléré. Les conditions de traitement dans les extracteurs à ultrasons sont contrôlables avec précision, ce qui permet d'éviter la dégradation de l'artémisinine, biomolécule sensible à la chaleur.

Extraction de l'artémisinine

L'artémisinine est une molécule bioactive présente dans les glandes trichomes de la plante Artemisia annua. Elle est utilisée comme médicament antipaludéen et présente un fort potentiel comme médicament pour le traitement de plusieurs autres maladies, notamment le cancer et le SRAS-CoV-2. La méthode d'extraction traditionnelle fait appel à des solvants toxiques et constitue un procédé coûteux et non optimal. Afin de produire de l'artémisinine à grande échelle dans des conditions favorables sur le plan environnemental et économique, une technique d'extraction efficace et écologique est nécessaire. L'extraction par ultrasons est une méthode d'extraction largement établie qui peut être utilisée en combinaison avec de l'eau ou de l'éthanol comme solvants non toxiques. Il a déjà été prouvé que l'extraction par ultrasons permet d'obtenir des rendements élevés en artémisinine, de sorte que la production d'artémisinine peut être rapidement étendue à de grands volumes. L'équipement d'extraction par ultrasons pour le traitement par lots et en ligne au niveau industriel est facilement disponible.

Demande d'information





Ultrasonic extractor for artemisinin extraction under pharma-grade conditions.

extracteur à ultrasons UIP2000hdT pour l'extraction industrielle par lots de l'artémisinine des feuilles d'Artemisia annua.

Extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine d'Artemisia annua

L'utilisation d'ultrasons puissants pour l'extraction surpasse les autres méthodes d'extraction dans plusieurs facteurs importants, notamment le rendement, le temps d'extraction, le respect de l'environnement et la rentabilité.

UP100H avec sonotrode MS14 pour l'extraction de produits botaniques, comme l'artémisinine des feuilles d'Artemisia annua.

Les inconvénients de l'extraction traditionnelle de l'artémisinine

Les méthodes traditionnelles d'extraction de l'artémisinine prennent du temps, peuvent endommager les molécules bioactives de l'artémisinine en raison des hautes températures appliquées, et ont un impact environnemental élevé en raison des solvants organiques utilisés à haute température. De plus, dans le processus en aval, une purification poussée est nécessaire pour éliminer les impuretés de l'extrait brut.

Les avantages de l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine

L'application d'ultrasons de puissance pour l'extraction a plusieurs effets positifs qui intensifient le processus d'extraction : Les ultrasons de puissance créent une cavitation acoustique. Cette cavitation acoustique favorise l'extraction botanique par rupture cellulaire, de sorte que les biomolécules piégées sont libérées de la matrice cellulaire de la plante. En outre, les forces de cavitation intensifient le transfert de masse en transportant efficacement les biomolécules, comme l'artémisinine, dans le solvant environnant. Le principe de fonctionnement de l'extraction par ultrasons peut être attribué aux forces purement mécaniques de la cavitation. Cela signifie que la sonication est une technique d'extraction non thermique et non chimique. Le fait d'être une technique d'extraction non thermique rend l'extraction par ultrasons particulièrement favorable, car l'artémisinine est un composé thermosensible, ce qui signifie que des températures plus élevées (par exemple, 70°C) entraîneront sa décomposition. Par conséquent, l'Artemisia annua L. ne peut pas être bouillie dans de l'eau chaude pour obtenir l'artémisinine.

Avantages de l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine

  • Les rendements plus élevés
  • Qualité supérieure
  • Extraction rapide
  • Choisissez votre solvant préféré
  • pas de dégradation thermique
  • Fonctionne avec des feuilles fraîches et séchées
  • Des conditions contrôlables avec précision
  • rentable

Solvants verts pour l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine

Les solvants d'extraction classiques utilisés pour la production d'artémisinine comprennent l'hexane, l'éther de pétrole ou le dichlorométhane. L'extraction par ultrasons est compatible avec n'importe quel solvant, y compris les solvants doux et verts comme l'éthanol ou l'eau. L'extraction par ultrasons de l'artémisinine avec de l'éthanol est tout aussi efficace que celle avec des solvants agressifs. Comme l'artémisinine présente une faible solubilité dans l'eau, des cyclodextrines peuvent être utilisées pour améliorer l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine dans l'eau froide.

Pourquoi l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine est-elle si efficace ?

Pour comprendre les avantages de l'extraction assistée par ultrasons, il faut comprendre le principe de fonctionnement des ultrasons de puissance. Le mécanisme d'intensification de l'extraction par ultrasons de puissance est principalement attribué au phénomène de cavitation acoustique. La cavitation acoustique provoque des collisions entre les particules de la biomasse botanique (comme les feuilles d'Artemisia annua L.), ce qui entraîne un fractionnement interparticulaire et une réduction de la taille des particules. Lorsque les bulles de cavitation s'effondrent à la surface des solides végétaux, l'érosion et la sonoporation agrandissent encore la surface des particules. Le transfert de masse ainsi intensifié facilite la libération de molécules telles que les protéines, les lipides, les sucres, les vitamines, les antioxydants, les produits phytosanitaires (par exemple, l'artémisinine) et les fibres alimentaires. Les forces de cisaillement générées par les ultrasons améliorent la pénétration du solvant dans la matrice cellulaire de la matière végétale et améliorent la perméabilité des membranes cellulaires, respectivement. Ces mécanismes des ultrasons puissants sont responsables de l'intensification significative du processus obtenue lorsque l'ultrasonication est appliquée pour l'extraction botanique.

Ultrasonic extraction is works by disrupting cell structures and promoting mass transfer

Les ondes ultrasonores de puissance perturbent la structure cellulaire des plantes, libèrent les composés bioactifs et favorisent le transfert de masse entre la matière végétale et le solvant (par exemple, l'éthanol).

Ultrasonic probe deice UP400St for the extraction of artemisinin from Artemisia annua trichomes.

Ultrasonicator UP400St (400 watts) pour l'extraction par lots de l'artémisinine.

Demande d'information





Résultats prouvés par la recherche de l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine

Plusieurs études scientifiques ont été entreprises afin d'étudier l'efficacité et la praticabilité de l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine à partir des feuilles d'Artemisia annua.

Briars et Paniwnyk ont montré " que les ultrasons à basse température augmentent le rendement de l'artémisinine extraite de A. annua d'environ 58 % et que les extraits semblent plus purs par rapport au trempage conventionnel ; par conséquent, l'utilisation des ultrasons pendant l'extraction a le potentiel de produire des traitements à base d'artémisinine à moindre coût. " (Briars et Paniwnyk, 2013)

Zhang et al. (2017) ont étudié l'extraction ultrasonique de l'artémisinine en utilisant l'éther méthylique de propylène glycol (PGME) comme solvant. L'extrait d'artémisinine produit par ultrasons a été analysé par chromatographie liquide à ultra performance (UPLC). Les résultats des analyses ont souligné la qualité de l'extrait. En raison de la bonne répétabilité du processus et de la stabilité de l'artémisinine extraite, l'extraction assistée par ultrasons utilisant le monoéther vert et efficace qu'est l'éther méthylique de propylène glycol (PGME) comme solvant offre de grandes perspectives pour l'extraction et la séparation des molécules bioactives des plantes. L'extraction par ultrasons utilisant l'éther méthylique de propylène glycol (PGME) comme solvant a permis d'obtenir une efficacité d'extraction globale élevée et des rendements élevés en artémisinine. (cf. Zhang et al., 2017)

Dans une autre étude, Zhang et al. (2020) présentent l'extraction par ultrasons de l'artémisinine en utilisant l'hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrine. L'ajout de cyclodextrine améliore la libération de l'artémisinine, composé peu soluble dans l'eau, et permet d'utiliser l'eau comme solvant avec de bons rendements d'extraction. L'extraction par ultrasons en combinaison avec la cyclodextrine a augmenté la quantité d'artémisinine à 8,66 mg/g, ce qui est significativement plus que la quantité correspondante de 1,70 mg/g obtenue dans l'eau.

Extracteurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour la production d'artémisinine

Ultrasonic extractor UIP2000hdT (2000 watts) during botanical extraction such as artemisinin from Artemisia annua leaves.Les systèmes d'extraction par ultrasons à haute performance de Hielscher Ultrasonics sont utilisés dans le monde entier sur les sites de R&D, à des niveaux de production petits, moyens et entièrement commerciaux dans diverses industries telles que l'alimentation, les compléments alimentaires et la production pharmaceutique. Les extracteurs à ultrasons haute performance intensifient le processus d'extraction et augmentent le rendement, améliorant ainsi l'efficacité globale de la production d'extraits de haute qualité. Hielscher Ultrasonics propose des équipements d'extraction pour tout volume / capacité de traitement. Fort d'une expérience de plus de 25 ans dans l'extraction botanique, Hielscher Ultrasonics est votre partenaire de confiance pour l'extraction ultrasonique haute performance d'Artemisia annua !

Ultrasons de haute performance, à la pointe de la technologie
Les caractéristiques intelligentes des ultrasons Hielscher sont conçues pour garantir un fonctionnement fiable, des résultats reproductibles et une grande facilité d'utilisation. Les paramètres de fonctionnement sont facilement accessibles et réglés par le biais d'un menu intuitif, qui peut être consulté sur un écran tactile couleur numérique et une télécommande par navigateur. Ainsi, toutes les conditions de traitement telles que l'énergie nette, l'énergie totale, l'amplitude, le temps, la pression et la température sont automatiquement enregistrées sur une carte SD intégrée. Cela vous permet de réviser et de comparer les cycles de sonication précédents et d'optimiser le processus d'extraction de l'artémisinine pour une efficacité maximale.
Les systèmes à ultrasons Hielscher sont utilisés dans le monde entier pour la fabrication d'extraits botaniques de haute qualité. Les ultrasons industriels Hielscher peuvent facilement générer des amplitudes élevées en fonctionnement continu (24/7/365). Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement générées en continu avec des sonotrodes standard (sondes ultrasoniques / cornes). Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes à ultrasons personnalisées sont disponibles. En raison de leur robustesse et de leur faible maintenance, nos systèmes d'extraction par ultrasons sont couramment installés pour des applications lourdes et dans des environnements exigeants.

Contactez-nous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus sur l'extraction par ultrasons de l'artémisinine de la plante Artemisia annua. Nous serons heureux de vous envoyer des informations sur nos systèmes d'extraction par ultrasons et nos prix ! Notre personnel expérimenté se fera un plaisir de discuter avec vous de votre application et de vos besoins en matière de traitement !
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Highly Efficient Artemisinin Extraction with Sonication

Artemisinin can be efficiently extracted using high-performance sonication. Ultrasonic extraction gives very high yields of artemisinin using mild solvents. The process of extraction applying ultrasound is accelerated drastically. The processing conditions in ultrasonic extractors are precisely controllable, which allows to prevent degradation of the heat-sensitive biomolecule artemisinin.

Artemisinin Extraction

Artemisinin is a bioactive molecule present within the trichome glands of the Artemisia annua plant, which is used as anti-malaria drug and shows high potential as drug for the treatment of several other diseases including cancer and SARS-CoV-2. The traditional extraction method involves toxic solvents and is an expensive, sub-optimal process. In order to produce artemisinin on large scale under environmentally and economically favourable conditions, an efficient and green extraction technique is required. Ultrasonic extraction is a widely established extraction method that can be used in combination with water or ethanol as non-toxic solvents. Ultrasonic extraction has been already proven to hive high artemisinin yields, so that artemisinin production can be rapidly scaled to large volumes. Ultrasonic extraction equipment for batch and in-line processing on industrial level is readily available.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic extractor for artemisinin extraction under pharma-grade conditions.

Ultrasonic extractor UIP2000hdT for industrial batch-extraction of artemisinin from Artemisia annua leaves.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Artemisinin from Artemisia annua

The use of power ultrasound for the extraction excels other extraction methods in various major factors, including yield, extraction time, environmental-friendliness, and cost-efficiency.

UP100H with MS14 sonotrode for the extraction of botanicals, such as artemisinin from Artemisia annua leaves

The Drawbacks of Traditional Artemisinin Extraction

Traditional extraction methods for artemisinin are time-consuming, can damage the bioactive molecules artemisinin due to high temperatures applied, and have a high environmental impact due to the organic solvents used at high temperatures. Additionally, in the downstream process extensive purification is necessary to remove impurities from the crude extract.

The Advantages of Ultrasonic Artemisinin Extraction

Applying power ultrasound for extraction has several positive effects which intensify the extraction process: High-performance ultrasound creates acoustic cavitation. This acoustic cavitation promotes botanical extraction by cell disruption, so that the entrapped biomolecules are released from the cell matrix of the plant. Additionally, the cavitational forces intensify mass transfer transporting the biomolecules such as artemisinin efficiently into the surrounding solvent. The working principle of ultrasonic extraction can be contributed to purely mechanical forces of cavitation. This means sonication is a non-thermal, non-chemical extraction technique. Being a non-thermal extraction technique makes ultrasonic extraction especially favourable since artemisinin is a thermally sensitive compound, meaning higher temperatures (e.g., 70°C) will cause its decomposition. Consequently, Artemisia annua L. could not be boiled in hot water to obtain artemisinin.

Benefits of Ultrasonic Artemisinin Extraction

  • Higher yields
  • Superior quality
  • Rapid extraction
  • Choose your preferred solvent
  • No thermal degradation
  • Works with fresh and dried leaves
  • Precisely controllable conditions
  • Cost-efficient

Green Solvents for Ultrasonic Artemisinin Extraction

Classical extraction solvents used for artemisinin production include hexane, petroleum ether or dichloromethane. Ultrasound-driven extraction is compatible with any solvent including mild, green solvents such as ethanol or water. Ultrasonic extraction of artemisinin with ethanol is equally efficient when compared to harsh solvents. As artemisinin exhibits poor water-solubility cyclodextrins can be used to improve the ultrasonic cold-water extraction of artemisinin.

What Makes Ultrasonic Artemisinin Extraction So Efficient?

To understand the advantages of ultrasonically assisted extraction, the working principle of power ultrasound must be understood. The extraction intensifying mechanism of power ultrasound is mainly attributed to the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation. Ultrasonic cavitation causes collisions between particles of the botanical biomass (such as Artemisia annua L. leaves), which results in interparticular fractioning and reduction of particle size. When cavitation bubbles collapse on the surface of the vegetable solids, erosion and sonoporation enlarge the particle surface further. The thereby intensified mass transfer facilitates the release of molecules such as proteins, lipids, sugars, vitamins, antioxidants, phyto-chemicals (e.g., artemisinin) and dietary fibres. Ultrasonically generated shear forces improve the penetration of the solvent into the cellular matrix of the botanical matter and improve the permeability of the cell membranes, respectively. These mechanisms of power ultrasonics are responsible for the significant process intensification achieved when ultrasonication is applied for botanical extraction.

Ultrasonic extraction is works by disrupting cell structures and promoting mass transfer

Power ultrasound waves disrupt the cell structure of botanicals, release the bioactive compounds and promote the mass transfer between the plant material and the solvent (e.g., ethanol).

Ultrasonic probe deice UP400St for the extraction of artemisinin from Artemisia annua trichomes.

Ultrasonicator UP400St (400 watts) for batch-extraction of artemisinin.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Research-Proven Results of Ultrasonic Artemisinin Extraction

Several scientific studies have been undertaken in order to investigate the efficiency and practicability of ultrasonic artemisinin extraction from Artemisia annua leaves.

Briars and Paniwnyk showed “that ultrasound at low temperatures increases the yield of artemisinin extracted from A. annua by around 58% and the extracts appear purer when compared to conventional steeping; therefore the use of ultrasound during extraction has the potential for producing lower cost artemisinin-based treatments.” (Briars and Paniwnyk, 2013)

Zhang et al. (2017) investigated ultrasonic artemisinin extraction using propylene glycol methyl ether (PGME) as solvent. Ultrasonically produced artemisinin extract was analysed using Ultra Performance Liquid Chromatography (UPLC). Analysis results underlined the quality of the extract. Due to the good process repeatability and stability of extracted artemisinin, the ultrasonically assisted extraction using the green and efficient monoether propylene glycol methyl ether (PGME) as solvent shows great prospects in the extraction and separation of bioactive molecules from botanicals. Ultrasonic extraction using propylene glycol methyl ether (PGME) as solvent resulted in high overall extraction efficiency and high artemisinin yields. (cf. Zhang et al., 2017)

In another study, Zhang et al. (2020) present the ultrasonic extraction of artemisinin using hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin. The addition of cyclodextrin improves the release of the poorly water-soluble compound artemisinin and allows to use water as solvent with good extraction yields. Ultrasonic extraction in combination with cyclodextrin increased the artemisinin amount to 8.66 mg/g, which is significantly more than the corresponding amount of 1.70 mg/g obtained in water.

High Performance Ultrasonic Extractors for Artemisinin Production

Ultrasonic extractor UIP2000hdT (2000 watts) during botanical extraction such as artemisinin from Artemisia annua leaves.High-performance ultrasonic extraction systems from Hielscher Ultrasonics are used worldwide on R&D, small, mid-size and fully-commercial production levels in various industries such as in food, dietary supplement and pharmaceutical production. High-performance ultrasonic extractors intensify the extraction process and increase yield thereby improving the overall-efficiency of high-quality extract production. Hielscher Ultrasonics offers extraction equipment for any volume / process capacity. Having experience in botanical extraction for more than 25 years, Hielscher Ultrasonics is your trusted partner for high-performance ultrasonic extraction from Artemisia annua!

High-Performance, State-of-the-Art Ultrasonicators
The smart features of Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed to guarantee reliable operation, reproducible outcomes and user-friendliness. Operational settings can be easily accessed and dialled via intuitive menu, which can be accessed via digital colour touch-display and browser remote control. Therefore, all processing conditions such as net energy, total energy, amplitude, time, pressure and temperature are automatically recorded on a built-in SD-card. This allows you to revise and compare previous sonication runs and to optimize the artemisinin extraction process to highest efficiency.
Hielscher Ultrasonics systems are used worldwide for the manufacturing of high-quality botanical extracts. Hielscher industrial ultrasonicators can easily run high amplitudes in continuous operation (24/7/365). Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously generated with standard sonotrodes (ultrasonic probes / horns). For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. Due to their robustness and low maintenance, our ultrasonic extraction systems are commonly installed for heavy duty applications and in demanding environments.

Contact us now to learn more about ultrasonic extraction of artemisinin from the Artemisia annua plant. We would be glad to send you information about our ultrasonic extraction systems and pricing! Our well-experienced staff will be glad to discuss your application and processing requirements with you!
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References




High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.