Hielscher – Ultraschall-Technologie

Algae Grow Lab – Ultraschall-Algenextraktion

Algenzucht

Algae Grow Lab hat eine Reihe von röhrenförmigen und flachen Photobioreaktoren für die Algenzucht sowie einen Zellaufschlußprozess entwickelt. Für den Algenaufschluß werden Hielscher Ultraschallreaktoren mit Ultraschalldurchflusszellen integriert.
Das Flussdiagramm des Prozesses ist unten abgebildet.

Algen Gro Lab entwickelte einen kompletten Prozessaufbau einschließlich Fotobioreaktor für Algenkultivierung und die Weiterverarbeitung Algenöl zu gewinnen.

Das Flussdiagramm zeigt den Prozess der Algenzucht und der ultraschall-gestützten Ölgewinnung aus Algen. ©Algae Grow Lab

Beispiele für Algae Grow Lab's Photobioreaktoren werden unten vorgestellt.
Mit Hilfe der LED-Panels, die Licht in die PAR-Teil des Spektrums emittieren, wird eine maximale Algenwachstumsrate erzielt.
So wird beispielsweise nach der Inokulation der Chlorella Vulgaris Algen mit der ursprünglichen Dichte 0,146 g/l innerhalb von 7 Tagen die Dichte von 7,3 g/l erreicht.

www.algaegrowlab.com

Algen wachsen Lab liefert Photobioreaktoren und Anlagen für die Alge Ölproduktion.

Algenzellaufschluß durch Hochleistungs-Ultraschall

Nach dem Wachstumsstadium sind die Algenzellen reif für den Prozess der Ölextraktion. Da der Zellinhalt durch die Zellmembran vom Umgebungsmedium getrennt ist, ist die Methode der Zelldesintegration ausschlaggebend für eine vollständige Freigabe des intrazellulären Materials. Der Zellmembran verleiht der Zelle Stabilität und Festigkeit und dient somit ihrem Schutz. Die elastischen Eigenschaften der Zellmembran ermöglichen es der Zelle, dem plötzlichen Anstieg und Abfall des osmotischen Druckes, welche durch externe Bedingungen auftreten können, Stand zu halten.
Ultraschall- und mikrowellen-gestützte Verfahren, wie sie nachfolgend beschrieben werden, verbessern die Extraktion von Mikroalgen deutlich und resultieren in einem höheren Wirkungsgrad, geringerer Extraktionsdauer und Ertragssteigerungen, sowie niedrigen Kosten sowie kaum hizugefügte Toxizität (wichtig bei der Produktion von Öl für Pharmaka, Nutraceuticals und Kosmetika).
Normalerweise ist die Gewinnung von Algenöl und anderem intrazellulärem Material aus Algen effektiver, wenn die Algenzellen vor der Extraktion zerstört werden. Manchmal ist sogar nur ein Zellaufschluß notwendig, der gleichzeitig die Abgabe des Zielproduktes mit sich bringt, so dass nur noch ein Trennverfahren (z.B. bei der Extraktion von Lipiden aus Algen für die Biokraftstofferzeugung) erforderlich ist.
Algae Grow Gab hat ein Ultraschallsystem für den Zellaufschluss und die Extraktion in ihr Setup integriert, um ein hoch-effizientes Verfahren zu gewährleisten, bei dem die vollständige Abgabe des intrazellulären Inhalts und damit eine höhere Ausbeute in kürzerer Zeit erreicht wird. Im Ultraschallreaktor generieren Ultraschallwellen Kavitation im flüssigen Medium, welches die Algenzellen enthält. Dabei entstehen und wachsen Kavitationsblasen während der alternierenden Rarefaktionsphasen der Ultraschallwelle solange bis sie eine bestimmte Größe erreichen, mit der sie keine weitere Energie absorbieren können. Ist diese maximale Punkt des Blasenwachstums erreicht, implodieren die Kavitationsblasen während einer Kompressionsphase. Die Blasenimplosion führt zu extremen Druck- und Temperaturunterschieden sowie zu Schockwellen und starken Flüssigkeitsjets. Diese extremen Kräfte zerstören nicht nur die Zellmembran, sondern spült den Zellinhalt in das umgebende Medium (z.B. Wasser oder Lösungsmittel).
Die Wirksamkeit der Ultraschall-Zelldesintegration ist von der Festigkeit und Elastizität der Zellwände abhängig, welche zwischen den einzelnen Algenstämmen erheblich variieren. Das ist der Grund, weshalb die Effizienz der Zelldesintegration und Extraktion stark von den Parametern des Beschallungsprozesses abhängt: die wichtigsten Parameter sind Amplitude, Druck, Konzentration & Viskosität und Temperatur. Diese Parameter müssen unter Berücksichtigung der Zelleigenschaften jedes einzelnen Algenstamm optimiert werden, um eine optimale Verarbeitungseffektivität und -effizienz zu gewährleisten.
Die Parameter des Zellaufschlusses und der Desintegration wurden bereits für einige Algenstämme untersucht. Weiterführende Informationen können den unten stehenden Forschungsberichten entnommen werden:

  • Dunnaliella salina and Nannochloropsis oculata: King P.M., Nowotarski K.; Joyce, E.M.; Mason, T.J. (2012): Ultrasonic disruption of algae cells. AIP Conference Proceedings; 5/24/2012, Vol. 1433 Issue 1, p. 237.
  • Nannochloropsis oculata: Jonathan R. McMillan, Ian A. Watson, Mehmood Ali, Weaam Jaafar (2013): Evaluation and comparison of algal cell disruption methods: Microwave, waterbath, blender, ultrasonic and laser treatment. Applied Energy, March 2013, Vol. 103, Pages 128–134.
  • Nanochloropsis salina: Sebastian Schwede, Alexandra Kowalczyk, Mandy Gerber, Roland Span (2011): Influence of different cell disruption techniques on mono digestion of algal biomass. World Renewable Energy Congress 2011, Bioenergy Technologies, 8-12 May 2011, Schweden.
  • Schizochytrium limacinum and Chlamydomonas reinhardtii: Jose Gerde, Mellissa Montalbo-Lomboy M, Linxing Yao, David Grewell, Tong Wang (2012): Evaluation of microalgae cell disruption by ultrasonic treatment. Bioresource Technology 2012, Vol. 125, pp.175-81.
  • Crypthecodinium cohnii: Paula Mercer and Roberto E. Armenta (2011): Developments in oil extraction from microalgae. Europeen Jornal of Lipid Science Technology, 2011.
  • Scotiellopsis terrestris: S. Starke, Dr. N. Hempel, L. Dombrowski, Prof. Dr. O. Pulz: Improvement of cell disruption for Scotiellopsis terrestris by means of ultrasound and a pectin decomposed enzyme. Naturstoffchemie.
Algenkultivierung in einem 500L Photobioreaktor

500 Liter rohrförmiger Photobioreaktor mit LED-Panelen ©Algae Grow Lab

Algen wachsen Lab Photobioreaktoren in verschiedenen Ausführungen für Algenzucht liefert.

Flat-Photobioreaktor mit LED-Panelen ©Algae Grow Lab

Extraktionsprozess

Nach der Kultivierung wird die Algen-Biomasse konzentriert, um die Biomasse von der restlichen Flüssigkeit zu trennen. Anschließend wird das Algenkonzentrat wird in einem Vorratstank gesammelt. Nach der Abtrennung von der Flüssigkeit müssen die Zellen aufgeschloßen werden, um das Öl und weiteres intrazelluläres Material zu extrahieren. Dazu wird die konzentrierte Biomasse durch den Ultraschallreaktor eines Hielscher Ultraschallprozessors gepumpt. Das Ultraschallrezirkulations-Setup wird die Rückführung des Zellkonzentrats unter dem gegebenen Druck durch die Hielscher-Durchflusszelle zurück in einen Speichertank sichergestellt. Die Rezirkulation durch den Ultraschallreaktor wird solange wiederholt bis die Algenzellen vollständig aufgeschlossen sind und die Algenbiomasse desintegriert ist. Nach vollständiger Ultraschallextraktion werden die extrahierten Lipide während eines Separationsschrittes von der Biomasse abgetrennt, um so das Endprodukt zu erhalten.

Leistungsstarke Ultraschall ist die effizienteste Methode für den Bruch von Algenzellen. Hielscher des UIP1500hd ist ein 1500 Watt Ultraschall-Homogenisator, die leicht integriert werden können anspruchsvolle Anwendungen zu erfüllen.

Equipment für den Algenzellaufschluss mit einem Hielscher 1,5 kW-Ultraschall-Prozessor UIP1500hd und Konzentrations-/ Separationsstufe. ©Algae Grow Lab

Angewandte Messmethoden zur Auswertung der Extraktion

Um die Effizienz der Algenzellaufschlusses zu messen und zu bewerten, verwendet Algae Grow Lab zwei verschiedene Methoden, um den Prozentsatz der lysierten Zellen zu evaluieren:

  1. Die erste Analysemethode basiert auf der Messung von Chlorophyll A, B und A B Fluoreszenz.
    Während einer Slow-Spin-Zentrifugation werden die Algenzellen und dieZelltrümmer als Pellet am Gefäßboden separiert, so dass nur noch Reste frei schwebenden Chlorophylls im Überstand verbleiben. Für die Messung werden die physikalischen Eigenschaften der Zellen und Chlorophylls herangezogen, anhand deren der Prozentsatz der Zelllyse festgestellt wird. Dafür wird zunächst die totale Chlorophyll-Fluoreszenz der Probe gemessen. Anschließend wird die Probe erneut zentrifugiert und die Chlorophyll-Fluoreszenz des Überstands gemessen. Durch den Vergleich der Prozentwerte der Chlorophyll-Fluoreszenz im Überstand und der Chlorophyll-Fluoreszenz der Gesamtprobe kann der Prozentsatz des Zellaufschlusses kalkuliert werden. Diese Messmethode ist relativ genau; allerdings basiert sie auf der Annahme, dass der Chlorophyllgehalt der Zellen einheitlich ist. Alle Total-Chlorophyllextraktionen wurden mit Methanol durchgeführt.
  2. Für die zweite Analysemethode wurde die klassische Hemocytometrie angewendet, bei welcher die Zelldichte in der geernteten Algenprobe gemessen wird. Diese Messprozedur erfolgt in 2 Schritten:
  • Zuerst wird die Zelldichte einer Algenprobe gemessen, welche vor der Ultraschallbehandlung geerntet wurde.
  • Nach der Beschallung wird eine Probe entnommen, um in einer zweiten Messung die Anzahl der Zellen zu bestimmen, welche während der Ultraschallbehandlung nicht aufgeschlossen wurden.
    Auf Grundlage der Ergebnisse dieser beiden Messungen wird der Prozentsatz des Zellsufschlusses berechnet.
Das Bild zeigt die Algenkonzentrat vor Zellaufschluß mittels Ultraschall-Leistung (Hielscher UIP1500hd). © Algen wachsen Lab

Abb. 1: Algen vor dem Zellaufschluss ©Algae Grow Lab

Das mikroskopische Bild zeigt das Algenkonzentrat nach 60 min. Beschallung. 50% der Algenzelle ist bereits gebrochen.

Abb. 2: Algenaufschluss: 50 % Zellaufschluss nach 60 Min. Beschallung. ©Algae Grow Lab

Mikroskopische Aufnahme von Ultraschall aufgebrochen und zerfallenen Algenzellen. © Algen wachsen Lab

Abb. 3: Algenaufschluss: 100 % Zellaufschluss nach 120 Min. Beschallung. ©Algae Grow Lab

Algen wachsen hat Lab eine Ultraschall-Zerstörungseinheit zu integrieren Hielscher des Ultraschall-Geräte für den Zellaufschluss entwickelt (Anklicken zum Vergrößern!)

Flow-Chart einer Algae Grow Lab Algenzucht- und Verarbeitungsanlage. ©Algae Grow Lab

Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Algae Grow Lab

Algae Cultivation

Algae Grow Lab developed a series of tubular and flat photobioreactors for algae cultivation as well as a process of cell ultrasonic destruction based on Hielscher ultrasonic processors equipped with flow cells.
The general flow diagram of the process is shown below.

Algae Gro Lab developed a complete process setup including photo bioreactor for algae cultivation and the downstream processing to gain algae oil.

The flow chart displays the process of algae cultivation and algal oil production using ultrasonication. ©Algae Grow Lab

Examples of Algae Grow Lab photobioreactors are presented below.
The use of the LED panels emitting light in the PAR part of spectrum allows to achieve a maximum grow rate of algae.
For example, after inoculation of Chlorella Vulgaris with the initial density of 0.146 g/L we achieved the density of 7.3g/L in 7 days.

www.algaegrowlab.com

Algae Grow Lab supplies photo-bioreactors and equipment for alge oil production.

Algae Cells Destruction by Ultrasonification

After the algae growth stadium, the algae cell are ripe for the oil production treatment. As the cell content is separated from the surrounding environment by a structure of comprised cell membranes, the cell disruption method is significant regarding the release of the complete intracellular material. The cell membrane provides mechanical strength to the cell and preserve its integrity. The elastic properties of the cell membrane allow the cells to withstand the rapid changes in osmotic pressure that may occur in their external surroundings.
Both ultrasound and microwave-assisted methods, which are described below, improve the extraction of microalgae significantly, with higher efficiency, reduced extraction times and increased yields, as well as low to moderate costs and negligible added toxicity.
Very often the extraction of the goal products from algae is more effective if the algae cells are destroyed prior to extraction. But sometimes, the cell destruction itself leads to release of the goal product, and only the separation process is needed to get it (e.g. the extraction of lipids from algae for biofuel production).
Algae grow lab integrates an ultrasonic system for cell disruption and extraction into their setup to ensure an highly efficient process achieving a complete release of intracellular content and thereby higher yields in shorter time. In the ultrasonic reactor, ultrasonic waves create caviatation in the liquid media which contains the algae cells. The cavitation bubbles grow during the alternating rarefaction phases of the ultrasonic wave until they attain certain size, when no further energy can be adsorbed. At this maximum point of bubble growth, the voids collapse during a compression phase. The bubble collapse creates extreme conditions of differentials of pressure and temperature as well as shock waves and strong liquid jets. These extreme forces do not only destroy the cells, but also effectively wash out their contents into the liquid media (e.g. water or solvents).
The effectiveness of the ultrasonic destruction strongly depends on durability and elasticity of the cell walls, which varies considerably between the individual algae strains. That is the reason why the efficieny of cell destruction is highly influenced by the parameters of the sonification process: The most important parameters are amplitude, pressure, concentration & viscosity, and temperature. These parameters must be optimized for every particular strain of algae to ensure the optimal processing efficiency.
Some examples of cell disruption and disintegration of different algae strains can be found in the articles cited below:

  • Dunnaliella salina and Nannochloropsis oculata: King P.M., Nowotarski K.; Joyce, E.M.; Mason, T.J. (2012): Ultrasonic disruption of algae cells. AIP Conference Proceedings; 5/24/2012, Vol. 1433 Issue 1, p. 237.
  • Nannochloropsis oculata: Jonathan R. McMillan, Ian A. Watson, Mehmood Ali, Weaam Jaafar (2013): Evaluation and comparison of algal cell disruption methods: Microwave, waterbath, blender, ultrasonic and laser treatment. Applied Energy, March 2013, Vol. 103, Pages 128–134.
  • Nanochloropsis salina: Sebastian Schwede, Alexandra Kowalczyk, Mandy Gerber, Roland Span (2011): Influence of different cell disruption techniques on mono digestion of algal biomass. World Renewable Energy Congress 2011, Bioenergy Technologies, 8-12 May 2011, Sweden.
  • Schizochytrium limacinum and Chlamydomonas reinhardtii: Jose Gerde, Mellissa Montalbo-Lomboy M, Linxing Yao, David Grewell, Tong Wang (2012): Evaluation of microalgae cell disruption by ultrasonic treatment. Bioresource Technology 2012, Vol. 125, pp.175-81.
  • Crypthecodinium cohnii: Paula Mercer and Roberto E. Armenta (2011): Developments in oil extraction from microalgae. Europeen Jornal of Lipid Science Technology, 2011.
  • Scotiellopsis terrestris: S. Starke, Dr. N. Hempel, L. Dombrowski, Prof. Dr. O. Pulz: Improvement of cell disruption for Scotiellopsis terrestris by means of ultrasound and a pectin decomposed enzyme. Naturstoffchemie.
Algae cultivation in a 500L photo-bioreactor

500L tubular photobioreactor with LED panels ©Algae Grow Lab

Algae Grow Lab supplies photo-bioreactors in various designs for algae cultivation.

Flat photo-bioreactor equipped with LED panels ©Algae Grow Lab

Process

After cultivation, the algae biomass stream is fed to the concentration device to separate the biomass from the liquid media. The concentrate is accumulated in the storage tank. After the separation, the cells must be disrupted to release the oil and other intracellular material. Therefore, the concentrated biomass is pumped through a Hielscher ultrasonic device. The ultrasonic recirculation setup ensures the recirculation of the cell concentrate under the given pressure through the Hielscher flow cell back to the accumulation tank. The recirculation lasts the time required to destroy cells. When the destruction process is completed, the biomass with the destroyed cells is pumping to the product separation device, where the final separation of product from the remaining debris occurs.

Powerful ultrasonication is the efficient method for the breakage of algae cells. Hielscher's UIP1500hd is a 1500 watts ultrasonic homogenizer that can be easily integrated to fullfill demanding applications.

Algae cell destruction unit with biomass concentration/ separation device and Hielscher’s 1.5 kW ultrasonic processor UIP1500hd. ©Algae Grow Lab

Measurement of the percentage of destroyed cells

For the efficiency evaluation of the algae breakage, ALgae Grow Lab used two different methodologies to measure the percentage of destroyed cells:

  1. The first analysis method is based on the measurement of the chlorophyll A, B, and A+B fluorescence.
    During slow spin centrifugation, algal cells and debris will pellet at the bottom of the recipient, but rests of free floating chlorophyll will still remain in the supernatant. Using these physical characteristics of the cell and chlorophyll, the percentage of the broken cells can be ascertained. This is accomplished by measuring firstly the total chlorophyll fluorescence of a sample. Then, the sample is centrifuged. Afterwards, the chlorophyll fluorescence of the supernatant is measured. By taking the percentage of chlorophyll fluorescence in the supernatant to the chlorophyll fluorescence of the total sample, an estimation to the percentage of broken cells can be made. This form of measurement is fairly accurate, but makes the assumption that the number of chlorophyll per cell is uniform. Total chlorophyll extractions were performed using methanol.
  2. For the second analysis method, the classical hemocytometry has been used to measure the cell density in the harvested algae sample. The procedure is carried out in 2 steps:
  • Firstly, the cell density of the harvested algae sample before the ultrasound treatment is measured.
  • Secondly, the number of non-destroyed (remaining) cells after sonification of the same sample is measured.
    Based on the results of these two measurements, the percentage of destroyed cells is calculated.
The picture shows the algae concentrate before cell disruption via power-ultrasound (Hielscher UIP1500hd). ©Algae Grow Lab

Pic.1: Algae Before Destruction ©Algae Grow Lab

The microscopic picture shows the algae concentrate after 60 min. sonication. 50% of the algae cell are already broken.

Pic 2: Algae disruption: 50% cell disruption after 60 min. sonication. ©Algae Grow Lab

Microscopic picture of ultrasonically disrupted and disintegrated algae cells. ©Algae Grow Lab

Pic 3: Algae disruption: 100% cell disruption after 120 min. sonication. ©Algae Grow Lab

Algae Grow Lab has developed an ultrasonic destruction unit integrating Hielscher's ultrasonic equipment for cell disruption (Click to enlarge!)

Flow Chart of Algae Grow Lab’s algae cultivation and processing unit. ©Algae Grow Lab

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.





Please note our privacy policy.