Spiritueux et liqueurs vieillis et affinés par ultrasons

Les distilleries utilisent des ultrasons à haute performance pour améliorer la qualité des spiritueux distillés en quelques heures, ce qui permet d'éviter ou de réduire le long vieillissement en fût, qui peut prendre plusieurs années. Les ultrasons favorisent les réactions mécaniques et chimiques, qui prennent plusieurs années dans des conditions de maturation classiques, et les condensent en quelques heures de traitement. Les distillats vieillis et lissés par ultrasons sont reconnus comme des liqueurs corsées, rondes et maturées, présentant les mêmes attributs de qualité que les spiritueux vieillis en fût pendant de longues années.

Vieillissement des eaux-de-vie distillées favorisé par les ultrasons

Distilled spirits such as whiskey require seral years of ageing. Sonication can accelerate the ageing and oaking process significantlyDe nombreuses boissons alcoolisées de haute qualité doivent être vieillies en fûts pendant de longues périodes. L'objectif est de transmettre à l'eau-de-vie distillée ou au vin les arômes du bois du fût (par exemple, chêne, érable, acacia, châtaignier, cerise, etc.). Pendant la période de vieillissement, de nombreuses réactions chimiques se produisent, ce qui modifie considérablement le goût et l'arôme de la boisson alcoolisée. Cependant, le vieillissement prend du temps et est coûteux. C'est pourquoi les alcools et les vins de haute qualité et de longue garde sont chers. C'est pourquoi la technologie du vieillissement par ultrasons a suscité un grand intérêt et a été rapidement adoptée par les distilleries et les vignobles.
Les ultrasons sont déjà connus pour leurs diverses applications, telles que le mélange, la modification de la texture et l'extraction des arômes dans la cuisine gastronomique ainsi que dans le traitement industriel des aliments. Les ultrasons sont également utilisés avec succès pour le vieillissement artificiel pendant le processus de maturation des spiritueux distillés, du vin et du vinaigre.
Des recherches scientifiques ont déjà prouvé qu'un traitement par ultrasons à environ 20 kHz influence positivement les spiritueux distillés, par exemple les boissons alcoolisées à base de riz. Le vieillissement par ultrasons à 20 kHz a permis d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats de maturation que la sonication à 1,6 MHz. Chang (2005) est arrivé à la conclusion que l'irradiation ultrasonique à 20 kHz est une bonne méthode alternative pour le vieillissement des boissons alcoolisées. (cf. Chang, 2005)

Demande d'information





Ultrasonicator UIP500hdT for accelerated artificial ageing and maturation of distilled spirits and liquors.

Le processeur ultrasonique de table UIP500hdT (500W, 20kHz) est idéal pour les micro-distilleries pour le vieillissement et la finition des spiritueux distillés.

Applications ultrasoniques dans les distilleries

  • Vieillissement accéléré
  • oaking
  • Infusion / création de notes aromatiques particulières
  • Adoucissement des alcools forts
  • Esterification d'acides gras libres en esters aromatiques

Vieillissement et finition par ultrasons

Le vieillissement des spiritueux et des vins par la méthode conventionnelle du vieillissement en fût pendant de longues périodes est un processus qui prend du temps. L'alcool non mûr a besoin de temps pour pénétrer dans le bois du fût ou dans les copeaux de bois. Le transfert de masse entre le liquide et le bois, par lequel les composés aromatiques tels que les molécules d'arômes volatiles sont transférés dans le liquide, est très lent. C'est pourquoi de nombreuses distilleries essaient d'accélérer la maturation en utilisant des fûts plus petits, car cela améliore le rapport entre la surface du bois et celle du liquide. Cependant, même si cela peut améliorer la couleur et donner à l'eau-de-vie un goût doux et légèrement plus rond, cela ne suffit pas à masquer ou à atténuer l'âpreté de l'alcool pas encore complètement mûr.
La solution: Introduire les ultrasons dans le processus de vieillissement. L'ultrasonication est une technique de traitement mécanique qui crée une cavitation, un cisaillement intense et une agitation. Ces forces denses en énergie ne créent pas seulement des turbulences et une agitation dans le liquide, mais favorisent également la pénétration du liquide dans le bois. Cela signifie que l'eau-de-vie ou le vin est capable de pénétrer et de sortir de la matrice cellulaire du bois. La matrice cellulaire du bois contient les molécules aromatiques qui donnent aux spiritueux et aux vins vieillis leur bouquet et leur goût uniques.
Alors que d'autres technologies de mélange, comme les agitateurs à palettes ou à pales, se contentent de déplacer le liquide à la surface du bois, la cavitation ultrasonique brise les structures cellulaires et permet ainsi une extraction efficace et rapide des molécules d'arôme.

Macération et infusion des eaux-de-vie distillées

Innovative distilleries use ultrasound waves to age, oak and finish their distilled spirits. Les spiritueux fraîchement distillés ont un goût âpre, qui peut être attribué à l'absence de diverses réactions chimiques. C'est pourquoi les liqueurs ont besoin d'un temps de maturation après la distillation. Pendant plusieurs années de vieillissement dans des fûts ou des tonneaux en bois, souvent avec l'ajout de copeaux de chêne grillés ou d'autres plantes aromatiques, plusieurs réactions chimiques telles que l'estérification et l'oxydation se produisent dans l'alcool. En raison de la lenteur de ces réactions chimiques, il est nécessaire que le distillat reste pendant de longues périodes dans le fût.
Intensifiez et accélérez la maturation avec les ultrasons : L'échographie offre une solution simple et fiable. – ces réactions chimiques lentes peuvent être facilement accélérées par l'application d'ondes ultrasonores de forte puissance. Lors de la sonication des liquides, le phénomène de cavitation acoustique est observé. La cavitation acoustique est bien connue pour favoriser les réactions chimiques. En d'autres termes, les ultrasons accélèrent les processus chimiques d'estérification et d'oxydation dans les distillats et raccourcissent considérablement la maturation.
De plus, les cycles alternés haute pression / basse pression de la cavitation ultrasonique pressent l'alcool distillé dans les pores du bois, ce qui augmente considérablement le transfert de masse entre le liquide et le solide. La vinification par ultrasons ainsi que l'infusion d'autres composés aromatiques provenant de fruits, d'herbes, etc. sont basées sur le principe de l'extraction par ultrasons. Pour en savoir plus sur l'extraction par ultrasons des plantes médicinales !

Demande d'information





Adoucir le goût des spiritueux

Les spiritueux distillés, en particulier lorsqu'ils n'ont pas été vieillis pendant une longue période, présentent souvent un profil aromatique agressif résultant d'une acidité élevée et d'un pH faible. Les spiritueux dont l'acidité est particulièrement prononcée et dont le pH est inférieur à 3 transforment les spiritueux et les liqueurs en une boisson acide (comparable à l'acidité du jus d'orange). L'onctuosité des spiritueux est en grande partie fonction du pH.
En outre, des composés tels que l'isopropanol ont besoin d'un temps de maturation pour réagir avec les acides gras libres et former des esters aromatiques. Ces esters dans les spiritueux distillés sont les composants aromatiques, qui sont principalement responsables du bouquet et de la saveur. Les ultrasons et l'oxydation favorisée par les ultrasons accélèrent la formation de ces esters souhaités et réduisent les congénères indésirables. – réduisant le temps de maturation de plusieurs années à quelques heures.

Avantages du vieillissement par ultrasons des eaux-de-vie distillées et du vin

  • haute efficacité
  • Un processus considérablement accéléré
  • Amélioration du goût et de l'onctuosité
  • rentable
  • Facile et sûr à utiliser
  • Disponible pour tout volume
 Ultrasound and ultrasonication are used in distilleries to accelerate ageing and oaking of distilled spirits and liquors.

Ultrasons avec cellules à écoulement pour le vieillissement, l'oléification et la finition des spiritueux distillés. SOnication a réduit le temps de maturation de plusieurs années à quelques heures.

Ultrasonication Boissons alcoolisées améliorées

Les ondes ultrasonores de forte puissance ont déjà été appliquées avec succès à de nombreuses boissons alcoolisées différentes, notamment le whisky, le bourbon, le scotch, le rhum, la tequila, le mezcal, la vodka, le sherry, l'absinthe, le vermouth, le saké, le vin de riz, le sochu, la grappa, le schapps, le gin, le vin rouge, le vin blanc, le zinfandel, ainsi que d'autres liqueurs. Les ultrasons sont utilisés pour intensifier et accélérer le vieillissement et la maturation, ainsi que pour les processus d'extraction et d'infusion. Dans l'ensemble, le traitement par ultrasons entraîne une modification bénéfique des liqueurs et des vins distillés.

Ultrasons haute performance pour le vieillissement et la finition des eaux-de-vie distillées

Depuis des décennies, Hielscher Ultrasonics fournit des processeurs à ultrasons de haute puissance et de basse fréquence à l'industrie alimentaire et des boissons. Les distilleries et les établissements vinicoles ont adopté la technologie ultrasonique pour produire des boissons alcoolisées de haute qualité dans des conditions plus efficaces, c'est-à-dire un traitement accéléré et des conditions contrôlables avec précision.
Les ultrasons Hielscher sont disponibles dans toutes les tailles, de l'appareil de laboratoire à main pour la recherche et le contrôle de la qualité aux systèmes de paillasse et pilotes pour les micro-distilleries et les distilleries de taille moyenne, en passant par les ultrasons à haut débit pour les grands producteurs commerciaux de spiritueux.
Tous les processeurs à ultrasons Hielscher sont dotés d'une technologie de pointe comprenant un écran couleur numérique, un logiciel sophistiqué, des réglages intelligents, un enregistrement automatique des données sur une carte SD intégrée et une télécommande par navigateur pour un fonctionnement précis, des résultats répétables et reproductibles, ainsi qu'une convivialité maximale. Des clients du monde entier utilisent la technologie Hielscher Ultrasons dans les caves et les distilleries, obtenant d'excellents résultats dans le raffinage, le vieillissement, l'oléification et l'infusion des spiritueux et des vins.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Les processeurs à ultrasons industriels peuvent délivrer en continu des amplitudes très élevées et sont conçus pour un fonctionnement 24/7/365. La robustesse et la fiabilité sont des caractéristiques de qualité évidentes de tous les ultrasons Hielscher.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.

Littérature / Références



Qu'il faut savoir

Spiritueux et liqueurs distillés

L'eau-de-vie, l'alcool distillé et les liqueurs définissent une boisson alcoolisée produite par la distillation de grains, de fruits ou de légumes ayant subi une fermentation alcoolique préalable. Au cours du processus de distillation, le liquide est concentré afin d'augmenter son volume d'alcool (vol%). Les spiritueux et les liqueurs distillés contiennent beaucoup plus d'alcool (éthanol) que d'autres boissons alcoolisées telles que le vin, la bière ou les boissons mixtes alcoolisées. Les caractéristiques aromatiques des spiritueux sont principalement obtenues à partir de matières premières agricoles, qui sont traitées au cours de diverses étapes, notamment la fermentation, la distillation et le vieillissement en fût.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Ultrasonically Aged and Matured Spirits and Liquors

Distilleries are using high-performance ultrasonication to improve the quality of distilled spirits within hours thereby skipping or reducing the time-consuming barrel-ageing, which takes up to several years. Ultrasonics promote the mechanical and chemical reactions, which take several years under conventional maturation conditions, and condense them to a few hours of treatment time. Ultrasonically aged and smoothened distillates are recognized as full-bodied, round and matured liquors exhibiting the same quality attributes as long-time barrel aged spirits.

Ultrasound Promoted Ageing of Distilled Spirits

Distilled spirits such as whiskey require seral years of ageing. Sonication can accelerate the ageing and oaking process significantlyMany high-quality alcoholic beverages require to be aged in barrels for long periods of time. The aim is to impart flavours from the wood of the barrel (e.g. oak, maple, acacia, chestnut, cherry etc.) into the distilled spirit or wine. During the ageing period, many chemical reactions occur, which change taste and aroma of the alcoholic beverage significantly. However, ageing takes time and is cost-intensive. That is why high quality, long aged liquors and wines are expensive. Therefore, the technology of ultrasonic ageing has attracted wide interest and rapid adoption from the distilleries and vineyards.
Ultrasound is already known for its various applications, such as blending, texture modification and flavour extraction in the gourmet cuisine as well as in industrial food processing. Ultrasound is also successfully used for artificial ageing during the maturation process of distilled spirits, wine and vinegar.
Scientific research has already proven that an ultrasound treatment at approx. 20 kHz influences distilled spirits, e.g., rice alcoholic beverages, positively. Ultrasonic ageing at 20kHz achieved better maturation results than the 1.6 MHz sonication. Chang (2005) came to the conclusion that 20 kHz ultrasonic irradiation is a good alternative method for ageing the alcoholic beverages. (cf. Chang, 2005)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonicator UIP500hdT for accelerated artificial ageing and maturation of distilled spirits and liquors.

The bench-top ultrasonic processor UIP500hdT (500W, 20kHz) is ideal for micro-distilleries to age and finish distilled spirits.

Ultrasonic Applications in Distilleries

  • Accelerated ageing
  • Oaking
  • Infusion / creating special flavour notes
  • Smoothening of harsh spirits
  • Esterification of free fatty acids into aromatic esters

Ultrasonic Ageing and Finishing

Ageing of spirits and wine through the conventional method of barrel ageing for long periods is a time-consuming process. The unmatured spirit needs time to penetrate the wood of the barrel or wood chips. The mass transfer between liquid and wood, by which the flavour compounds such as volatile flavour molecules are transferred into the liquid is very slow. Therefore, many distilleries try to speed up the maturation by using smaller barrels as this improves the ratio between surface area of the wood and the liquid. However, even if this might improve the colour and give the spirit a sweet and slightly rounder taste, it is by far not enough to mask or smoothen the harshness of the not yet fully matured alcohol.
The solution: Enter ultrasonication into the ageing process. Ultrasonication is a mechanical processing technique, which creates cavitation, intense shear and agitation. These energy-dense forces do not only create turbulences and agitation in the liquid, but also promote the penetration of the liquid into the wood. This means, the spirit or wine is able to move in and out of the wood’s cell matrix. The cell matrix of the wood contains the flavour molecules, which give aged spirits and wines their unique bouquet and unique flavour.
Whilst other mixing technologies such as paddle or blade agitators just move the liquid over the surface of the wood, ultrasonic cavitation breaks cellular structures and results thereby in an efficient and rapid extraction of flavour molecules.

Oaking and Infusion of Distilled Spirits

Innovative distilleries use ultrasound waves to age, oak and finish their distilled spirits. Freshly distilled spirits have a harsh taste, which can be attributed to the lack of various chemical reactions. That is why liquors require time for maturation after distillation. During several years of ageing in wooden barrels or casks, often under the addition of toasted oak chips or other flavour-contributing botanicals, several chemical reactions such as esterification and oxidation occur in the spirit. The slowness of these chemical reactions make it necessary that the distillate remains for long periods in the barrel.
Intensify and accelerate the maturation with ultrasound: Ultrasound offers a simple and reliable solution – these slow chemical reactions can be easily accelerated by the application of high-power ultrasound waves. During the sonication of liquids, the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation is observed. Acoustic cavitation is well known to promote chemical reactions. This means, ultrasound accelerates the chemical processes of esterification and oxidation in the distillates and shortens the maturation significantly.
Additionally, the alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles of ultrasonic cavitation press the distilled spirit into the pores of the wood thereby increasing the mass transfer between liquid and solid dramatically. Ultrasonically promoted oaking as well as the infusion with other flavour compounds from fruits, herbs etc. are based on the principle of ultrasonic extraction. Read more about ultrasonic extraction of botanicals!

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Smoothening the Taste of Spirits

Distilled spirits, especially when not aged for a substantial time, often exhibit a harsh flavour profile resulting from high acidity / low pH value. Spirits with particularly pronounced acidity and with pH values lower than 3 turn spirits and liquors into an acidic beverage (comparable to the acidity of orange juice). The smoothness of spirits is largely a function of pH.
Additionally, compounds such as isopropanol require maturation time in order to react with free fatty acids so that aromatic esters are formed. These esters in distilled spirits are the aromatic components, which are mainly responsible for the bouquet and flavour. Ultrasound and ultrasonically-promoted oxidation accelerate the formation of those wanted esters and reduce unwanted congeners – reducing the maturation time of several years down to a few hours.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Ageing of Distilled Spirits and Wine

  • High efficiency
  • Significantly accelerated process
  • Improved taste and smoothness
  • Cost-efficient
  • Easy and safe to operate
  • Available for any volume
 Ultrasound and ultrasonication are used in distilleries to accelerate ageing and oaking of distilled spirits and liquors.

Ultrasonicators with flow cells for the ageing, oaking and finishing of distilled spirits. SOnication reduced the maturation time from several years down to a few hours.

Ultrasonication Improved Alcoholic Beverages

High-power ultrasound waves have been already applied successfully to many different alcoholic beverages including whiskey, bourbon, scotch, rum, tequila, mezcal, vodka, sherry, absinthe, vermouth, sake rice wine, sochu, grappa, schapps, gin, red wine, white wine, zinfandel, as well as other liquors. Ultrasonication is used for intensified and accelerated ageing and maturation as well as for extraction and infusion processes. Overall, ultrasound treatment results in beneficially altered distilled liquors and wines.

High-Performance Ultrasonicators for Ageing and Finishing Distilled Spirits

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-power, low-frequency ultrasonic processors to the food and beverage industry since decades. Distilleries and wineries have adopted the ultrasonic technology to produce high-quality alcoholic beverages under more efficient conditions, i.e., accelerated treatment and precisely controllable conditions.
Hielscher ultrasonicators are available at any size, from the hand-hold lab device for research and quality control to bench-top and pilot systems for micro-distilleries and mid-size distilleries as well as high-throughput ultrasonicators for large commercial spirit producers.
All Hielscher ultrasonic processors feature state-of-the-art technology including digital colour display, sophisticated software, smart settings, automatic data protocolling on integrated SD-card, and browser remote control for precise operation, repeatable and reproducible results, as well as highest user-friendliness. Customers worldwide use Hielscher Ultrasonics technology in wineries and distilleries achieving great results in refining, ageing, oaking and infusing distilled spirits and wines.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can continuously deliver very high amplitudes and are designed for 24/7/365 operation. Robustness and reliability are obvious quality features of all Hielscher ultrasonicators.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References



Facts Worth Knowing

Distilled Spirits and Liquors

Distilled spirits, distilled alcohol and liquors define an alcoholic drink produced by the distillation of grains, fruits, or vegetables that were fermented afore through alcoholic fermentation. During the distillation process, the liquid is concentrated in order to increase its alcohol by volume (vol%). Distilled spirits and liquors contain significantly more alcohol (ethanol) than other alcoholic drinks such as wine, beer or alcoholic mixed beverages.The aromatic characteristics of spirits is mainly obtained from from agricultural raw materials, which are processed during various treatments steps including fermentation, distillation, and barrel ageing.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.