Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

سونو-توليف نانو هيدروكسيباتيت

هيدروكسيباتيت (HA أو هاب) هو السيراميك النشطة بيولوجيا يتردد عاليا لأغراض طبية بسبب بنية مماثلة لمادة العظم. تركيب بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (سونو التوليف) من هيدروكسيباتيت هو أسلوب ناجح لإنتاج ذات البنية النانومترية هاب في أعلى معايير الجودة. الطريق بالموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح لإنتاج هاب نانو البلورية وكذلك الجسيمات المعدلة، على سبيل المثال nanospheres الأساسية قذيفة، والمواد المركبة.

هيدروكسيباتيت: A تنوعا المعدنية

هيدروكسيل الأباتيت أو هيدروكسيباتيت (هاب، أيضا HA) هو شكل معدن طبيعي من الأباتيت الكالسيوم مع الصيغة كاليفورنيا5(أ ف ب4)3(يا). للدلالة على أن الخلية وحدة وضوح الشمس تضم كيانين، فإنه عادة ما كتب كا10(أ ف ب4)6(يا)2. هيدروكسيل الأباتيت هو endmember الهيدروكسيل من مجموعة الأباتيت المعقدة. يمكن استبدال OH- أيون الفلوريد من قبل، كلوريد أو كربونات، وإنتاج fluorapatite أو chlorapatite. فإنه يبلور في نظام بلوري سداسي. ومن المعروف هاب كمادة عظم ما يصل الى 50٪ بالوزن من العظام هو شكل معدل من هيدروكسيباتيت.
في الطب، ذات البنية النانومترية هاب يسهل اختراقها هي مادة مثيرة للاهتمام لتطبيق العظم الاصطناعي. نظرا لتوافق مع الحياة جيدة في الاتصال العظام وتكوينها الكيميائي مشابه لمادة العظم، وقد وجدت يسهل اختراقها هاب السيراميك استخدام هائل في التطبيقات الطبية الحيوية بما في ذلك تجديد العظام الأنسجة، وتكاثر الخلايا، وتسليم المخدرات.
"في هندسة الأنسجة العظمية تم تطبيقه كما مواد الحشو للعيوب العظام وزيادة ومصطنعة المواد الكسب غير المشروع العظام، وجراحة ترقيعية المراجعة. مساحتها السطحية عالية يؤدي إلى osteoconductivity ممتازة وresorbability توفير نشوب العظام سريع. "[Soypan وآخرون. 2007] وهكذا، والمغلفة العديد من يزرع حديثة مع هيدروكسيل الأباتيت.
تطبيق آخر واعد من هيدروكسيل الأباتيت الجريزوفولفين هو استخدامه كسلاح “بناء العظام” تكملة مع امتصاص متفوقة بالمقارنة مع الكالسيوم.
بجانب استخدامه كمادة إصلاح للعظام والأسنان، وغيرها من التطبيقات من هاب يمكن العثور عليها في الحفز، إنتاج الأسمدة، ومجمع في المنتجات الصيدلانية، في تطبيقات البروتين اللوني، وعمليات معالجة المياه.

قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية: الآثار والتأثيرات

يتم وصف سونيكيشن كعمليه حيث يتم استخدام حقل الصوتية ، والذي يقترن إلى متوسط السائل. تنتشر موجات الموجات فوق الصوتية في السائل وتنتج بالتناوب الضغط العالي/دورات الضغط المنخفض (ضغط و rarefaction). خلال مرحله فراغ ، تظهر فقاعات فراغ صغيره أو فراغات في السائل ، والتي تنمو علي مختلف الضغط العالي/دورات الضغط المنخفض حتى فقاعه لا يمكن ان تمتص المزيد من الطاقة. في هذه المرحلة ، والفقاعات غرس بعنف خلال مرحله الضغط. خلال هذه الفقاعة انهيار يتم تحرير كميه كبيره من الطاقة في شكل موجات الصدمة ، ودرجات الحرارة العالية (حوالي 5 ، 000K) والضغوط (حوالي 2 ، 000 atm). وعلاوة علي ذلك ، تتميز هذه "البؤر الساخنة" بمعدلات تبريد عاليه جدا. يؤدي انفجار الفقاعة أيضا إلى نفثات سائله تصل إلى سرعه 280m/s. وتسمي هذه الظاهرة التجويف.
عندما تكون هذه القوى المتطرفة، التي يتم إنشاؤها أثناء انهيار كثيرا انه فقاعات التجويف، وتوسيع في المتوسط ​​sonicated، تتأثر الجسيمات والقطيرات – مما أدى إلى تصادم بين الجسيمات بحيث تتحطم الصلبة. وبالتالي، يتم تحقيق الجسيمات خفض حجم مثل الطحن، deagglomeration، والتشتت. يمكن diminuted الجسيمات إلى submicron- وحجم النانو.
بجانب الآثار الميكانيكية، يمكن للصوتنة قوية خلق الجذور الحرة، والجزيئات القص، وتفعيل جزيئات السطوح. وتعرف هذه الظاهرة باسم sonochemistry.

سونو-التجميعي

العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية للنتائج الطين في الجسيمات الدقيقة جدا حتى مع التوزيع بحيث يتم إنشاء المزيد من المواقع التنوي لهطول الأمطار.
الجسيمات هاب تصنيعه تحت ultrasonication تظهر انخفاض مستوى التكتل. وأكد انخفاض الميل إلى التكتل من هاب توليفها بالموجات فوق الصوتية على سبيل المثال بواسطة FESEM (حقل الانبعاثات المجهر الإلكتروني) تحليل Poinern وآخرون. (2009).

يساعد الموجات فوق الصوتية ويعزز التفاعلات الكيميائية التي كتبها التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية والآثار المادية التي تؤثر مباشرة الجسيمات التشكل خلال مرحلة النمو. الفوائد الرئيسية من ultrasonication ينتج عن ذلك من المخاليط رد فعل رقيق هي

  • 1) زيادة سرعة رد الفعل،
  • 2) انخفاض وقت المعالجة
  • 3) حدوث تحسن عام في كفاءة استخدام الطاقة.

Poinern وآخرون. (2011) وضعت طريقا الرطب من المواد الكيميائية التي تستخدم نترات الكالسيوم tetrahydrate (كاليفورنيا [NO3] 2 · 4H2O) وفوسفات هيدروجين البوتاسيوم (KH2PO4)، والكواشف الرئيسية. من أجل السيطرة على قيمة الرقم الهيدروجيني خلال التوليف، تمت إضافة هيدروكسيد الأمونيوم (NH4OH).
كان المعالج الموجات فوق الصوتية ل UP50H (50 W، 30 كيلو هرتز، MS7 Sonotrode ث / 7 ملم قطر) من HIELSCHER الموجات فوق الصوتية.

خطوات تركيب نانو HAP:

حل 40 مل من 0.32M الكالسيوم (NO3)2 · 4 ः2O تم إعداده في كوب صغير. ثم تم تعديل الرقم الهيدروجيني الحل إلى 9.0 مع ما يقرب من 2.5ML NH4يا. كان sonicated الحل مع UP50H في وضع السعة 100٪ لمدة 1 ساعة.
في نهاية الساعة الأولى حل 60 مل من 0.19M [KH2بو4] ثم أضاف ببطء قطرة قطرة إلى الحل الأول بينما تمر الساعة الثانية من أشعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية. أثناء عملية الخلط، تم التحقق من قيمة الرقم الهيدروجيني والحفاظ على 9 في حين تم الإبقاء على نسبة / P الكالسيوم عند 1.67. ثم تم تصفية الحل باستخدام الطرد المركزي (~ 2000 ز)، وبعد ذلك تم تتناسب راسب أبيض الناتجة إلى عدد من العينات من أجل المعالجة الحرارية.
وجود الموجات فوق الصوتية في إجراء توليف قبل المعالجة الحرارية له تأثير كبير في تشكيل الأولية السلائف الجسيمات النانوية HAP. ويرجع ذلك إلى حجم الجسيمات التي تتعلق التنوي ونمط النمو للمادة، والذي بدوره يرتبط إلى درجة تشبع فائق ضمن المرحلة السائلة هذا.
وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن كلا من حجم الجسيمات ومورفولوجية لها يمكن أن تتأثر بشكل مباشر خلال هذه العملية التوليف. أظهر تأثير زيادة قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية من 0 إلى 50W أنه كان من الممكن أن ينخفض ​​حجم الجسيمات قبل المعالجة الحرارية.
وأشارت قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية زيادة تستخدم لأشرق السائل أن أعدادا أكبر من فقاعات / يجري إنتاج التجاويف. وهذا بدوره ينتج المزيد من المواقع التنوي ونتيجة لجزيئات تشكلت حول هذه المواقع هي أصغر. وعلاوة على ذلك، والجسيمات تتعرض لفترات أطول من أشعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية تظهر أقل التكتل. وقد أكدت بيانات FESEM لاحق انخفاض التكتل الجسيمات عند استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية خلال عملية التوليف.
تم إنتاج جزيئات النانو هاب في نطاق حجم النانومتر ومورفولوجيا كروية باستخدام تقنية الترسيب الكيميائي الرطب في وجود الموجات فوق الصوتية. وقد تبين أن البنية البلورية والصرف الناتجة مساحيق نانو HAP كان يعتمد على قوة مصدر إشعاع الموجات فوق الصوتية والمعالجة الحرارية لاحقة المستخدمة. وكان من الواضح أن وجود الموجات فوق الصوتية في عملية التوليف تعزيز التفاعلات الكيميائية والآثار المادية التي أنتجت في وقت لاحق متناهية الصغر نانو مساحيق هاب بعد المعالجة الحرارية.

ultrasonication مستمر مع خلية تدفق الزجاج

صوتنة في غرفة المفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية

هيدروكسيباتيت:

  • الرئيسي غير العضوية فوسفات الكالسيوم المعدنية
  • توافق مع الحياة عالية
  • التحلل البيولوجي البطيء
  • عظمي
  • غير سامة
  • غير مناعة
  • يمكن دمجها مع البوليمرات و / أو الزجاج
  • جيدة مصفوفة هيكل امتصاص لجزيئات أخرى
  • ممتاز بديل العظام

المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي أدوات قوية لتجميع وfunctionalize الجسيمات، مثل هاب

التحقيق من نوع ultrasonicator UP50H

هاب التجميعي عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية سول جل الطريق

ساعد بالموجات فوق الصوتية الطريق سول-جل لتركيب الجزيئات ذات البنية النانومترية هاب:
مواد:
– الكواشف: نترات الكالسيوم الكالسيوم (NO3)2، ثنائي الأمونيوم الهيدروجين الفوسفات (NH4)2HPO4، hydroxyd الصوديوم هيدروكسيد الصوديوم.
– 25 مل أنبوب اختبار

  1. حل الكالسيوم (NO3)2 و(NH4)2HPO4 في الماء المقطر (المولي نسبة الكالسيوم إلى الفوسفور: 1.67)
  2. إضافة بعض هيدروكسيد الصوديوم إلى حل للحفاظ على درجة الحموضة حوالي 10.
  3. العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع UP100H (sonotrode MS10، السعة 100٪)
  • وأجريت التوليفات المائية في 150 درجة مئوية لمدة 24 ساعة في فرن كهربائي.
  • بعد رد الفعل، بلوري هاب يمكن أن تحصد بواسطة الطرد المركزي والغسيل مع الماء منزوع الأيونات.
  • تحليل nanopowder هاب التي تم الحصول عليها بواسطة المجهر (SEM، TEM،) و / أو التحليل الطيفي (FT-IR). تظهر النانوية هاب توليفها التبلور عالية. مورفولوجيا مختلفة ويمكن ملاحظة هذا يتوقف على الوقت صوتنة. أطول صوتنة يمكن أن يؤدي إلى نانواعواد هاب موحدة مع الجانب نسبة عالية والتبلور فائقة. [حزب المحافظين. Manafi وآخرون. 2008]

تعديل هاب

نظرا لهشاشة لها، وتطبيق هاب نقية محدودة. في مجال البحوث المادي، بذلت جهود عديدة لتعديل هاب البوليمرات منذ العظم الطبيعي هو مركب يتكون أساسا من نانو الحجم، بلورات هاب ما يشبه الإبرة (حسابات لحوالي 65wt٪ من العظام). التعديل بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من هاب وتجميع المركبات ذات الخصائص المادية تحسنت يوفر إمكانيات متعددة (انظر بعض الأمثلة أدناه).

أمثلة تطبيقية:

توليف نانو هاب

في دراسة Poinern وآخرون. (2009)، وHIELSCHER UP50H وقد استخدم المسبار من نوع ultrasonicator بنجاح لسونو-توليف هاب. مع زيادة الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية، وحجم الجسيمات من البلورة هاب انخفض. وبواسطة تقنية الرطب هطول بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية إعداد النانوية هيدروكسيباتيت (الحظ). كاليفورنيا (NO3) وKH25بو4 تستخدم werde والمواد الرئيسية وNH3 كما المرسب. أدى هطول الأمطار المائية تحت أشعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية في جزيئات هاب نانو الحجم مع مورفولوجيا كروية في نطاق حجم نانو متر (حوالي 30nm ± 5٪). وجد Poinern وزملاء العمل التجميعي سونو-المائية طريقا الاقتصادي مع قدرة قوية على نطاق يصل إلى الإنتاج التجاري.

توليف gelantine-هيدروكسيباتيت (جل هاب)

وقد أعدت Brundavanam وزملاء العمل بنجاح (جل هاب) مركب gelantine هيدروكسيباتيت في ظل ظروف صوتنة معتدل. لإعداد gelantine-هيدروكسيباتيت، 1G من الجيلاتين تم حلها تماما في الماء 1000ML MilliQ عند 40 درجة مئوية. ثم أضاف 2ML من الحل الجيلاتين استعداد لCA2 + / NH3 خليط. كان sonicated الخليط مع UP50H ultrasonicator (50W، 30kHz). خلال صوتنة، 60ML من 0.19M KH2بو4 وانخفاض بحكمة تضاف إلى الخليط.
وكان الحل كله سونيكاتيد ل 1h. تم فحص قيمه الأس الهيدروجيني والحفاظ عليها عند درجه الحموضة 9 في جميع الأوقات وتم تعديل نسبه Ca/P إلى 1.67. وقد تحقق الترشيح من الراسب الأبيض من قبل طرد ، مما ادي إلى الطين سميكه. وكانت عينات مختلفه المعالجة الحرارية في فرن أنبوب ل 2 حاء في درجات حرارة 100 ، 200 ، 300 و 400 درجه مئوية. التالي ، تم الحصول علي مسحوق الهلام-هاب في شكل محبب ، والتي كانت مطحونه إلى مسحوق غرامه وتتميز XRD ، FE-SEM و FT-IR. وتظهر النتائج ان ultrasonication معتدل ووجود الجيلاتين خلال مرحله النمو من هاب تعزيز التصاق اقل-مما ادي إلى أصغر وتشكيل شكل كروي العادية من هلام-هاب نانو-الجسيمات. سونيكيشن معتدل يساعد علي تخليق نانو الحجم الجسيمات هاب – بسبب تاثيرات التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. وفي وقت لاحق ، ترتبط الأنواع التي من الهلام والكاربونيل من الجيلاتين بجزيئات النانو هاب خلال مرحله النمو عن طريق التفاعل بمساعده سونوكيميائي.
[Brundavanam وآخرون. 2011]

ترسب الصفائح الدموية هاب على التيتانيوم

Ozhukil Kollatha وآخرون. (2013) والمغلفة لوحات تي مع هيدروكسيباتيت. قبل الترسيب، والمتجانس تعليق هاب مع UP400S (400 واط جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية مع H14 القرن بالموجات فوق الصوتية، والوقت صوتنة 40 ثانية. في السعة 75٪).

الفضة المطلية هاب

وضعت Ignatev وزملاء العمل (2013) طريقة التخليق الحيوى حيث أودعت الفضة النانوية (AgNp) على هاب للحصول على طلاء هاب مع خصائص مضادة للجراثيم وتقليل تأثير السامة للخلايا. لdeagglomeration من الفضة النانوية والترسيب على هيدروكسيباتيت، وHIELSCHER UP400S كان مستعملا.

تستخدم Ignatev وشريكه في العمل على UP400S جهاز التحقيق من نوع الموجات فوق الصوتية لإنتاج هاب المغلفة الفضة.

A الإعداد من محرك مغناطيسي وultrasonicator UP400S كان يستخدم لإعداد هاب المغلفة الفضة [Ignatev وآخرون 2013]


لدينا أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية القوية هي أدوات يمكن الاعتماد عليها لعلاج الجزيئات في micron- الفرعية ومدى نانو الحجم. إذا كنت ترغب في توليف، تفريق أو functionalize الجزيئات في أنابيب صغيرة لأغراض بحثية أو تحتاج لعلاج كميات كبيرة من عجائن نانو مسحوق للإنتاج التجاري – تقدم HIELSCHER وultrasonicator مناسبة لمتطلبات الخاص بك!
UP400S مع مفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية

الخالط بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP400S


اتصل بنا / اسأل عن مزيد من المعلومات

تحدث معنا حول متطلبات معالجة الخاص بك. وسوف نوصي معلمات الإعداد والتجهيز أكثر ملائمة للمشروع الخاص بك.





يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


مراجع الادب

  • Brundavanam، R. K .؛ Jinag، Z.-T.، تشابمان، P .؛ لو، X.-T؛ Mondinos، N؛ فاوست، D؛ Poinern، G. E. J. (2011): تأثير مخفف الجيلاتين على الموجات فوق الصوتية التوليف بمساعدة حراريا النانو هيدروكسيباتيت. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18، 2011. 697-703.
  • [سنغيز], [ب.]; غوكسي, Y.; يلدز, n.; Aktas, Z.; Calimli, A. (2008): توليف وتوصيف جسيمات نانويه هيدرويابيت. الغرويات والأسطح A: فيسيتشيم. الهندسة الجوانب 322 ؛ 2008 ال29-33.
  • Ignatev، M .؛ رايباك، T .؛ Colonges، G؛ Scharff، W .؛ السوق، S. (2013): البلازما رش طلاء هيدروكسيباتيت مع الفضة النانوية. اكتا METALLURGICA Slovaca، 19/1. 2013. 20-29.
  • Jevtića، M .؛ Radulovićc، A .؛ Ignjatovića، N؛ Mitrićb، M .؛ Uskoković، D. (2009): تجميع الشواهد من بولي (د، ل-lactide-ك-glycolide) / هيدروكسيباتيت nanospheres الأساسية قذيفة تحت أشعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية. اكتا Biomaterialia 5/1. 2009. 208-218.
  • Kusrini، E؛ Pudjiastuti، A. R؛ Astutiningsih، S؛ Harjanto، S. (2012): إعداد هيدروكسيباتيت من الأبقار العظام من طرق الجمع بين الموجات فوق الصوتية ورذاذ تجفيف. تي. أسيوط. على المواد الكيميائية الحيوية الكيميائية والعلوم البيئية (ICBEE'2012) سنغافورة، 14-15 ديسمبر 2012.
  • Manafi، S؛ بديع، S.H. (2008): تأثير الموجات فوق الصوتية على التبلور نانو هيدروكسيباتيت عبر ويت الطريقة الكيميائية. الأشعة تحت الحمراء J فارما الخيال العلمي 4/2. 2008. 163-168
  • Ozhukil Kollatha، V؛ Chenc، Q؛ Clossetb، R .؛ Luytena، J .؛ Trainab، K .؛ Mullensa، S؛ Boccaccinic، A. R؛ Clootsb، R. (2013): AC DC مقابل الكهربي ترسب هيدروكسيباتيت على التيتانيوم. مجلة الجمعية الأوروبية السيراميك 33؛ 2013. 2715-2721.
  • Poinern، G.E.J؛ Brundavanam، R.K؛ ثي لو، X؛ فاوست، D. (2012): إن الخواص الميكانيكية للسيراميك المسامية المستمدة من 30 نانومتر الحجم الجسيمات مسحوق استنادا لهيدروكسيباتيت لالمحتملة الصلب هندسة الأنسجة التطبيقات. المجلة الأمريكية للهندسة الطبية الحيوية 2/6. 2012. 278-286.
  • [بوينرن], G.J.E.; بروندافانام, r.; ثي Le, X.; ديجورفيتش ، س. بروكيتش ، م. فوسيت ، d. (2011): الحرارية والتاثير بالموجات فوق الصوتية في تشكيل مقياس نانومتر هيدروكسيباتيت الحيوي السيراميك. المجلة الدولية لنانو 6 ؛ 2011.2083-2095.
  • [بوينرن], G.J.E.; بروندافانام, R.K.; Mondinos, n.; جيانغ, Z.-T. (2009): توليف وتوصيف نانوهيدروكسيباتيت باستخدام طريقه مساعده بالموجات فوق الصوتية. الفوق صوتيات سونوتشيميستري ، 16/4; 2009.469-474.
  • Soypan، I؛ ميل، M .؛ راميش، S؛ خالد، K.A: (2007): هيدروكسيباتيت مسامية العظام للتطبيقات الصناعية. علوم وتكنولوجيا المواد المتقدمة 8. 2007. 116.
  • Suslick، K. S. (1998): كيرك-Othmer موسوعة التكنولوجيا الكيميائية. 4 إد. J. ايلي & أبناء: نيويورك، المجلد. 26، 1998. 517-541.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية الأجهزة عن المقعد العلوي والإنتاج مثل UIP1500hd توفر درجة الصناعي الكامل.

جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية UIP1500hd مع مفاعل التدفق من خلال

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Sono-Synthesis of Nano-Hydroxyapatite

Hydroxyapatite (HA or HAp) is a highly frequented bioactive ceramic for medical purposes due to its similar structure to bone material. The ultrasonically assisted synthesis (sono-synthesis) of hydroxyapatite is a successful technique to produce nanostructured HAp at highest quality standards. The ultrasonic route allows to produce nano-crystalline HAp as well as modified particles, e.g. core-shell nanospheres, and composites.

Hydroxyapatite: A Versatile Mineral

Hydroxylapatite or hydroxyapatite (HAp, also HA) is a naturally occurring mineral form of calcium apatite with the formula Ca5(PO4)3(OH). To denote that the crystal unit cell comprises two entities, it is usually written Ca10(PO4)6(OH)2. Hydroxylapatite is the hydroxyl endmember of the complex apatite group. The OH- ion can be replaced by fluoride, chloride or carbonate, producing fluorapatite or chlorapatite. It crystallizes in the hexagonal crystal system. HAp is known as bone material as up to 50 wt% of bone is a modified form of hydroxyapatite.
In medicine, nanostructured porous HAp is an interesting material for artifical bone application. Due to its good biocompatibility in bone contact and its similar chemical composition to bone material, porous HAp ceramic has found enormous use in biomedical applications including bone tissue regeneration, cell proliferation, and drug delivery.
„In bone tissue engineering it has been applied as filling material for bone defects and augmentation, artificial bone graft material, and prosthesis revision surgery. Its high surface area leads to excellent osteoconductivity and resorbability providing fast bone ingrowth.“ [Soypan et al. 2007] So, many modern implants are coated with hydroxylapatite.
Another promising application of microcrystalline hydroxylapatite is its use as “bone-building” supplement with superior absorption in comparison to calcium.
Beside its use as repair material for bone and teeth, other applications of HAp can be found in catalysis, fertilizer production, as compound in pharmaceutical products, in protein chromatography applications, and water treatment processes.

Power Ultrasound: Effects and Impact

Sonication is decribed as a process where an acoustic field is used, which is coupled to a liquid medium. The ultrasound waves propagate in the liquid and produce alternating high pressure/ low pressure cycles (compression and rarefaction). During the rarefaction phase emerge small vaccum bubbles or voids in the liquid, which grow over various high pressure/ low pressure cycles until the bubble cannot absorb no more energy. At this phase, the bubbles implodes violently during a compression phase. During such bubble collapse a large amount of energy is released in form of a shock waves, high temperatures (approx. 5,000K) and pressures (approx. 2,000atm). Furthermore, these „hot spots“ are characterized by very high cooling rates. The implosion of the bubble also results in liquid jets of up to 280m/s velocity. This phenomenon is termed cavitation.
When these extreme forces, which are generated during the collapse oft he cavitation bubbles, expand in the sonicated medium, particles and droplets are affected – resulting in interparticle collision so that the solid shatter. Thereby, particle size reduction such as milling, deagglomeration, and dispersion are achieved. The particles can be diminuted to submicron- and nano-size.
Beside of the mechanical effects, the powerful sonication can create free radicals, shear molecules, and activate particles surfaces. These phenomenon is known as sonochemistry.

Sono-Synthesis

An ultrasonic treatment of the slurry results in very fine particles with even distribution so that more nucleation sites for precipitation are created.
HAp particles synthesized under ultrasonication show a decreased level of agglomeration. The lower tendency to agglomeration of ultrasonically synthesized HAp was confirmed e.g. by FESEM (Field Emission Scanning Electron Microscopy) analysis of Poinern et al. (2009).

Ultrasound assists and promotes chemical reactions by ultrasonic cavitation and its physical effects that directly influence particle morphology during the growth phase. The main benefits of ultrasonication resulting the preparation of superfine reaction mixtures are

  • 1) increased reaction speed,
  • 2) decreased processing time
  • 3) an overall improvement in the efficient use of energy.

Poinern et al. (2011) developed a wet-chemical route that uses calcium nitrate tetrahydrate (Ca[NO3]2 · 4H2O) and potassium dihydrogen phosphate (KH2PO4) as main reactants. For control of the pH value during the synthesis, ammonium hydroxide (NH4OH) was added.
The ultrasound processor was an UP50H (50 W, 30 kHz, MS7 Sonotrode w/ 7 mm diameter) from Hielscher Ultrasonics.

Steps of nano-HAP synthesis:

A 40 mL solution of 0.32M Ca(NO3)2 · 4H2O was prepared in a small beaker. The solution pH was then adjusted to 9.0 with approximately 2.5mL NH4OH. The solution was sonicated with the UP50H at 100% amplitude setting for 1 hour.
At the end of the first hour a 60 mL solution of 0.19M [KH2PO4] was then slowly added dropwise into the first solution while undergoing a second hour of ultrasonic irradiation. During the mixing process, the pH value was checked and maintained at 9 while the Ca/P ratio was maintained at 1.67. The solution was then filtered using centrifugation (~2000 g), after which the resultant white precipitate was proportioned into a number of samples for heat treatment.
The presence of ultrasound in the synthesis procedure prior to the thermal treatment has a significant influence in forming the initial nano-HAP particle precursors. This is due to the particle size being related to nucleation and the growth pattern of the material, which in turn is related to the degree of super saturation within the liquid phase.
In addition, both the particle size and its morphology can be directly influenced during this synthesis process. The effect of increasing the ultrasound power from 0 to 50W showed that it was possible to decrease the particle size prior to thermal treatment.
The increasing ultrasound power used to irradiate the liquid indicated that greater numbers of bubbles/cavitations were being produced. This in turn produced more nucleation sites and as a result the particles formed around these sites are smaller. Furthermore, particles exposed to longer periods of ultrasonic irradiation show less agglomeration. Subsequent FESEM data has confirmed the reduced particle agglomeration when ultrasound is used during the synthesis process.
Nano-HAp particles in the nanometer size range and spherical morphology were produced using a wet chemical precipitation technique in the presence of ultrasound. It was found that the crystalline structure and morphology of the resulting nano-HAP powders was dependent upon the power of the ultrasonic irradiation source and the subsequent thermal treatment used. It was evident that the presence of ultrasound in the synthesis process promoted the chemical reactions and physical effects that subsequently produced the ultrafine nano- HAp powders after thermal treatment.

Continuous ultrasonication with a glass flow cell

Sonication in an ultrasonic reactor chamber

Meet Hielscher at the 3rd International Electronic Conference on Medicinal Chemistry

3rd International Electronic Conference on Medicinal Chemistry

Hydroxyapatite:

  • main inorganic calcium phosphate mineral
  • high biocompatibility
  • slow biodegradability
  • osteoconductive
  • non-toxic
  • non-immunogenic
  • can be combined with polymers and/ or glass
  • good absorption structure matrix for other molecules
  • excellent bone substitute

  • Ultrasonic homogenizers are powerful tools to synthesize and functionalize particles, such as HAp

    Probe-type ultrasonicator UP50H

    HAp Synthesis via Ultrasonic Sol-Gel Route

    Ultrasonically assisted sol-gel route for the synthesis of nanostructured HAp particles:
    Material:
    – reactants: Calcium nitrate Ca(NO3)2, di-ammonium hydrogen phosphate (NH4)2HPO4, Sodium hydroxyd NaOH ;
    – 25 ml test tube

    1. Dissolve Ca(NO3)2 and (NH4)2HPO4 in distilled water (molar ratio calcium to phosphorous: 1.67)
    2. Add some NaOH to the solution to keep its pH around 10.
    3. Ultrasonic treatment with an UP100H (sonotrode MS10, amplitude 100%)
  • The hydrothermal syntheses were conducted at 150°C for 24 h in an electric oven.
  • After the reaction, crystalline HAp can be harvested by centrifugation and washing with deionized water.
  • Analysis of the obtained HAp nanopowder by microscopy (SEM, TEM,) and/ or spectroscopy (FT-IR). The synthesized HAp nanoparticles show high crystallinity. Different morphology can be observed depending on the sonication time. Longer sonication can lead to uniform HAp nanorods with a high aspect ratio and ultra-high crystallinity. [cp. Manafi et al. 2008]
  • Modification of HAp

    Due to its brittleness, the application of pure HAp is limited. In material research, many efforts have been made to modify HAp by polymers since the natural bone is a composite mainly consisted of nano-sized, needle-like HAp crystals (accounts for about 65wt% of bone). The ultrasonically assisted modification of HAp and synthesis of composites with improved material characteristics offers manifold possibilities (see a few examples below).

    Practical Examples:

    Synthesis of nano-HAp

    In the study of Poinern et al. (2009), a Hielscher UP50H probe-type ultrasonicator was successfully used for the sono-synthesis of HAp. With increase of ultrasound energy, the particles size of the HAp crystallites decreased. Nanostructured hydroxyapatite (HAp) was prepared by an ultrasonically assisted wet-precipitation technique. Ca(NO3) and KH25PO4 werde used as the main material and NH3 as the precipitator. The hydrothermal precipitation under ultrasonic irradiation resulted in nano-sized HAp particles with a spherical morphology in the nano metre size range (approx. 30nm ± 5%). Poinern and co-workers found the sono-hydrothermal synthesis a economic route with strong scale-up capability to commercial production.

    Synthesis of gelantine-hydroxyapatite (Gel-HAp)

    Brundavanam and co-workers have successfully prepared a gelantine-hydroxyapatite (Gel-HAp) composite under mild sonication conditions. For the preparation of gelantine-hydroxyapatite, 1g of gelatine has been completely dissolved in 1000mL MilliQ water at 40°C. 2mL of the prepared gelatine solution was then added to the Ca2+/NH3 mixture. The mixture was sonicated with an UP50H ultrasonicator (50W, 30kHz). During the sonication, 60mL of 0.19M KH2PO4 were drop-wisely added to the mixture.
    The whole solution was sonicated for 1h. The pH value was checked and maintained at pH 9 at all times and the Ca/P ratio was adjusted to 1.67. Filtration of the white precipitate was achieved by centrifugation, resulting in a thick slurry. Different samples were heat-treated in a tube furnace for 2h at a temperatures of 100, 200, 300 and 400°C. Thereby, a Gel–HAp powder in granular form were obtained, which was grinded to a fine powder and characterized by XRD, FE-SEM and FT-IR. The results show that mild ultrasonication and presence of gelatine during the growth phase of the HAp promote lower adhesion – thereby resulting in a smaller and forming a regular spherical shape of the Gel–HAp nano-particles. The mild sonication assists the synthesis of nano-sized Gel–HAp particles due to ultrasonic homogenization effects. The amide and carbonyl species from the gelatine subsequently attach to the HAp nano-particles during the growth phase via sonochemically assisted interaction.
    [Brundavanam et al. 2011]

    Deposition of HAp on Titanium Platelets

    Ozhukil Kollatha et al. (2013) have coated Ti plates with hydroxyapatite. Before the deposition, the HAp suspension was homogenized with an UP400S (400 watts ultrasonic device with ultrasonic horn H14, sonication time 40 sec. at 75% amplitude).

    Silver Coated HAp

    Ignatev and co-workers (2013) developed a biosynthetic method where silver nanoparticles (AgNp) were deposited on HAp to obtain a HAp coating with antibacterial properties and to decrease the cytotoxic effect. For the deagglomeration of the silver nanoparticles and for their sedimentation on the hydroxyapatite, a Hielscher UP400S was used.
    Ignatev and his co-workers used the ultrasonic probe-type device UP400S for the silver-coated HAp production.

    A setup of magnetic stirrer and ultrasonicator UP400S was used for the silver-coated Hap preparation [Ignatev et al 2013]


    Our powerful ultrasonic devices are reliable tools to treat particles in the sub micron- and nano-sized range. Whether you want to synthesize, disperse or functionalize particles in small tubes for research purpose or you need to treat high volumes of nano-powder slurries for commercial production – Hielscher offers the suitable ultrasonicator for your requirements!
    UP400S with ultrasonic reactor

    Ultrasonic homogenizer UP400S


    Contact Us / Ask for more Information

    Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.





    Please note our privacy policy.


    Literature/References

    • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
    • Cengiz, B.; Gokce, Y.; Yildiz, N.; Aktas, Z.; Calimli, A. (2008): Synthesis and characterization of hydroyapatite nanoparticles. Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochem. Eng. Aspects 322; 2008. 29-33.
    • Ignatev, M.; Rybak, T.; Colonges, G.; Scharff, W.; Marke, S. (2013): Plasma Sprayed Hydroxyapatite Coatings with Silver Nanoparticles. Acta Metallurgica Slovaca, 19/1; 2013. 20-29.
    • Jevtića, M.; Radulovićc, A.; Ignjatovića, N.; Mitrićb, M.; Uskoković, D. (2009): Controlled assembly of poly(d,l-lactide-co-glycolide)/ hydroxyapatite core–shell nanospheres under ultrasonic irradiation. Acta Biomaterialia 5/ 1; 2009. 208–218.
    • Kusrini, E.; Pudjiastuti, A. R.; Astutiningsih, S.; Harjanto, S. (2012): Preparation of Hydroxyapatite from Bovine Bone by Combination Methods of Ultrasonic and Spray Drying. Intl. Conf. on Chemical, Bio-Chemical and Environmental Sciences (ICBEE’2012) Singapore, December 14-15, 2012.
    • Manafi, S.; Badiee, S.H. (2008): Effect of Ultrasonic on Crystallinity of Nano-Hydroxyapatite via Wet Chemical Method. Ir J Pharma Sci 4/2; 2008. 163-168
    • Ozhukil Kollatha, V.; Chenc, Q.; Clossetb, R.; Luytena, J.; Trainab, K.; Mullensa, S.; Boccaccinic, A. R.; Clootsb, R. (2013): AC vs. DC Electrophoretic Deposition of Hydroxyapatite on Titanium. Journal of the European Ceramic Society 33; 2013. 2715–2721.
    • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
    • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermal and ultrasonic influence in the formation of nanometer scale hydroxyapatite bio-ceramic. International Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
    • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthesis and characterisation of nanohydroxyapatite using an ultrasound assisted method. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
    • Soypan, I.; Mel, M.; Ramesh, S.; Khalid, K.A: (2007): Porous hydroxyapatite for artificial bone applications. Science and Technology of Advanced Materials 8. 2007. 116.
    • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.

    Ultrasonic devices for bench-top and production such as the UIP1500hd provide full industrial grade.

    Ultrasonic device UIP1500hd with flow-through reactor