Hielscher Ultraschalltechnik

Sono-Synthese von Nano-Hydroxylapatit

Hydroxylapatit (HA oder HAp) ist häufig verwendete bioaktive Keramik, die sich aufgrund ihrer knochen-ähnlichen Struktur für medizinische Zwecke eignet. Die ultraschall-gestützte Synthese (Sono-Synthese) von Hydroxyapatit ist eine effektive Methode, um qualitativ hochwertiges, nanostrukturiertes HAp zu produzieren. Der sonochemische Syntheseweg erlaubt es, nano-kristallines HAp sowie modifizierte HAp-Partikel zu produzieren, z.B. Core-Shell-Nanosphären und Komposite.

Hydroxylapatit: Ein vielseitiges Mineral

Hydroxylapatit (HAp, auch HA) ist ein natürlich vorkommendes Mineral aus Calcium-Apatit mit der Formel Ca5(PO4)3(OH). Um anzuzeigen, dass die Kristall-Einheitszelle aus zwei Einheiten besteht, wird in der Regel Ca10(PO4)6(OH)2geschrieben. Hydroxylapatit ist das letzte Hydroxyl-Mineral in der komplexen Apatit-Gruppe. Die OH-Ionen können durch Fluorid, Chlorid oder Calciumcarbonat ersetzt werden, so dass Fluorapatit oder Chlorapatit entstehen. Es kristallisiert im hexagonalen Kristallsystem und entwickelt meist kurz- bis langprismatische Kristalle. HAp ist als Knochenmaterial bekannt, da bis zu 50% des Knochens aus einer modifizierten Hydroxylapatit-Form bestehen.
In der Medizin gilt nanostrukturiertes poröses HAp als interessantes Material für künstliche Knochen. Aufgrund seiner guten Biokompatibilität mit Knochenmaterial und aufgrund seiner ähnlichen chemischen Zusammensetzung findet poröse HAp Keramik zahlreiche Anwendungen im biomedizinischen Bereich, z.B. für die Regeneration von Knochengewebe,die Zellproliferation und den Drug-Delivery.
"In der Knochengewebezüchtung (Bone Tissue Engineering) wird es als Füllmaterial und Knochenaufbaumaterial bei Knochendefekten, Knochentransplantationen und Revisionsprothesen-Operationen eingesetzt. Die große Partikeloberfläche führt zu einer hervorragenden Osteokonduktivität, Resorbierbarkeit, so dass das Knochengewebe schnell zusammenwächst." [Soypan et al. 2007] Daher werden bereits die meisten modernen Implantate mit Hydroxylapatit beschichtet.
Eine weitere vielversprechende Anwendung von mikrokristallinem Hydroxylapatit ist seine Verwendung als „Knochen aufbauendes“ Nahrungsergänzungsmittel mit einer deutlich besseren Absorption im Vergleich zu Kalzium.
Neben seiner Verwendung als Reparatur- und Aufbaumaterial für Knochen und Zähne wird HAp u.a. auch für Katalyseprozesse, in der Düngemittelproduktion, als Verbundstoff in pharmazeutischen Produkten, in der Protein-Chromatographie und Wasseraufbereitungsprozessen eingesetzt.

Hochleistung-Ultraschall: Effekte und Wirkung

Die Sondierung wird als ein Prozess beschrieben, bei dem ein akustisches Feld verwendet wird, das mit einem flüssigen Medium gekoppelt ist. Die Ultraschallwellen breiten sich in der Flüssigkeit aus und erzeugen abwechselnd Hochdruck-/Niederdruckzyklen (Kompression und Verdünnung). Während der Verdünnungsphase entstehen kleine Vakuumblasen oder Hohlräume in der Flüssigkeit, die über verschiedene Hochdruck-/Niederdruckzyklen wachsen, bis die Blase keine Energie mehr aufnehmen kann. In dieser Phase implodieren die Blasen während einer Kompressionsphase heftig. Beim Zusammenbruch einer solchen Blase wird eine große Energiemenge in Form von Stoßwellen, hohen Temperaturen (ca. 5.000K) und Drücken (ca. 2.000atm) freigesetzt. Darüber hinaus zeichnen sich diese "Hot Spots" durch sehr hohe Kühlraten aus. Die Implosion der Blase führt auch zu Flüssigkeitsstrahlen von bis zu 280 m/s Geschwindigkeit. Dieses Phänomen wird als Kavitation bezeichnet.
Wenn diese extremen Kräfte, die während der Implosion der Kavitationsblasen generiert werden, sich im beschallten Medium ausbreiten, werden Partikel und Tröpfchen beeinflusst – Tropfen und Partikel werden beschleunigt und prallen auseinander. Durch die interpartikuläre Kollision werden Tröpfen zerrissen und Partikel zerschlagen. Dadurch werden Effekte wie die Vermahlung, Dispergierung, Desagglomeration und Emulgierung erreicht. Partikel und Tropfen können durch die Beschallung effektiv auf submikron - und nano-skalige Größen reduziert werden.
Neben den mechanischen Effekten können durch eine intensive Beschallung (Sonorisierung) freie Radikale erzeugt, Moleküle geschert und Partikeloberflächen aktiviert werden. Der Einfluss von Hochleistungsultraschll auf chemische Systeme wird als Sonochemie bezeichnet.

Sono-Synthese

Mit einer Ultraschall-Behandlung von Flüssigkeiten bzw. Slurries können sehr feine Partikel mit sehr gleichmäßiger Verteilung erzeugt werden, so dass während Fällungsreaktionen eine hohe Dichte an Kristallisationskeimen entsteht.
Hydroxylapatit-Partikel, die mit Ultraschall synthetisiert wurden, zeigen eine geringere Agglomeration. Die geringere Tendenz zur Agglomeration von ultraschall-synthetisierten HAp bestätigt Poinern et al. (2009) in seinen Analysen, z.B. FESEM (Field Emission Scanning Electron Microscopy).

Ultraschall unterstützt und fördert die chemische Reaktion durch die Ultraschallkavitation und ihre physikalischen Effekte, welche die Partikelmorphologie direkt während der Wachstumsphase beeinflussen. Die wesentlichen Vorteile der Ultraschall-Synthese liegen in der Herstellung einer sehr feinen Reaktionslösung, wodurch

  • die Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit erhöht wird,
  • die Verarbeitungszeit reduziert wird
  • und die Energieeffizienz gesteigert wird.

Poinern et al. (2011) hat einen nasschemischen Syntheseweg entwickelt, bei dem Calciumnitrat-Tetrahydrat (Ca[NO3]2 · 4H2O) und Kaliumdihydrogenphosphat (KH2PO4) als Hauptedukte verwendet werden. Um den pH-Wert während der Synthese zu kontrollieren, wurde Ammoniumhydroxid (NH4OH) hinzugefügt.
Ponnern et al. (2011) verwendete in seiner Studie den Ultraschallprozessor UP50H (50 W, 30 kHz, MS7-Sonotrode mit einem Durchmesser von 7mm) von Hielscher Ultrasonics.

Schritte der Nano-Hydroxylapatit-Synthese:

40mL einer Lösung aus 0,32M Ca(NO3)2 · 4H2O wurden in einem kleinen Becherglas vorbereitet. Der pH-Wert der Lösung wurde mit ca. 2,5ml NH 4OH auf pH9,0 korrigiert. Die Lösung wurde mit dem Ultraschallstabgerät UP50H bei 100 % Amplitudeneinstellung für 1 Stunde beschallt.
Nachdem die einstündige Beschallung abgeschlossen war, wurde in der zweiten, ebenfalls einstündigen Beschallungsphase 60ml der 0,19M [KH2PO4]-Lösung tropfenweise der Ausgangslösung hinzugefügt. Während des Mischprozesses wurde der pH-Wert überprüft und konstant bei pH9 gehalten, während das Ca/P-Verhältnis bei 1,67 gehalten wurde. Die Lösung wurde anschließend zentrifugiert (~ 2000 g), wodurch ein weißer Niederschlag gewonnen wurde, der für eine Wärmebehandlung in mehrere Proben portioniert wurde.
Die Beschallung mit Hochleistungs-Ultraschall während des Synthese-Verfahrens vor der thermischen Behandlung zeigt deutliche Effekte auf die Entstehung der Vorläufer der ersten Nano-Hydroxylapatit-Partikel. Dies ist der Partikelgröße geschuldet, welche in Zusammenhang mit der Keimbildung und dem Wachstumsmuster des Materials steht, welche wiederum mit dem Übersättigungsgrad der Lösung zusammenhängt.
Darüber hinaus können die Korngröße und die Morphologie direkt während der Synthese beeinflusst werden. Die eingetragene Ultraschall-Leistung zwischen 0 bis 50W zeigte, dass es möglich war, die Korngröße vor der thermischen Behandlung zu verringern.
Der zunehmende Eintrag an Ultraschall-Leistung lässt darauf schließen, dass bei höherer Beschallungsintensität mehr Kavitationsblasen erzeugt wurden. Dies wiederum führte zu einer vermehrten Keimbildung, wodurch die Partikel, die sich an diesen Keimpunkten bilden, kleiner sind. Zudem ist zu beobachten, dass Partikel, die länger beschallt wurden, weniger agglomerieren. Nachfolgende FESEM-Daten bestätigen, dass die Partikel weniger agglomerieren, wenn während des Syntheseprozesses Ultraschall eingesetzt wird.
Pointern et al. (2011) gelang es mittels ultraschall-gestützter nasschemischer Fällungsreaktion Nano-HAp-Partikel im Nanometerbereich und mit sphärischer Morphologie herzustellen. Die Studie ergab, dass die kristalline Struktur und Morphologie des produzierten Nano-HAP-Pulvers abhängig von der Beschallungsintensität und der anschließend verwendeten Wärmebehandlung war. Es ist offensichtlich, dass Ultraschall die Synthese positiv beeinflusst, so dass ultrafeines Nano-HAp-Pulver ausgefällt wurde.

Kontinuierliche Behandlung mit Ultraschall mit einem Glas Durchflußzelle

Beschallung im Ultraschallreaktor

Hydroxylapatit:

  • wichtigstes anorganisches Kalziumphosphat-Mineral
  • hohe Biokompatibilität
  • langsame Abbaubarkeit
  • Osteokonduktivität
  • nicht toxisch
  • nicht immunogen
  • mit Polymeren und/oder Glas kombinierbar
  • gute Absorptionsstruktur-Matrix für andere Moleküle
  • ausgezeichnetes Knochenersatzmaterial

Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren sind leistungsfähige Werkzeuge zu synthetisieren und funktionalisieren Teilchen, wie HAp

Ultraschall-Stabschwinger UP50H

HAp-Synthese via sonochemisches Sol-Gel-Verfahren

Ultraschall-gestützter Sol-Gel-Weg für die Synthese von nanostrukturierten HAp-Partikeln:
Material:
– Edukte: Kalziumnitrat Ca(NO3)2, Di-Ammoniumhydrogenphosphat (NH4)2HPO4Natriumhydroxyd NaOH;
– 25ml Reagenzglas

  1. Lösen Sie Ca(NO3)2 und (NH4)2HPO4 in destilliertem Wasser (molares Verhältnis Kalzium : Phosphor = 1,67)
  2. Fügen Sie der Lösung etwas NaOH hinzu, um pH-Wert bei ca. pH 10 zu halten.
  3. Beschallen Sie die Lösung mit dem Ultraschallstabschwinger UP100H (Sonotrode MS10, Amplitude 100 %)
  • Die hydrothermale Synthese wurde bei 150°C für 24h in einem Ofen durchgeführt.
  • Nach der Reaktion wurde das kristalline HAp mit einer Zentrifuge abgetrennt und mit entionisiertem Wasser gewaschen.
  • Das gewonnene HAp-Nanopulver wurde mittels Mikroskopie (SEM, TEM) und/oder Spektroskopie (FT-IR) analysiert. Die synthetisierten HAp-Nanopartikel zeigten eine hohe Kristallinität. Je nach Beschallungsintensität und -dauer konnte eine unterschiedliche Morphologie beobachtet werden. Eine längere Beschallungsdauer erzeugte einheitliche HAp-Nanorods mit einem hohen Aspektverhältnis und ultra-hoher Kristallinität. [vgl. Manafi et al. 2008]

Modifiziertes Hydroxylapatit

Durch seine Sprödigkeit ist die Anwendung reinen Hydroxylapatits nur beschränkt möglich. In der Materialforschung wurden zahlreiche Anstrengungen unternommen, um HAp mit Polymeren zu modifizieren, da natürliches Knochenmaterial vor allem aus nadelförmigen Nano-Hydroxylapatitkristallen zusammensetzt (ca. 65wt % des Knochens). Durch die ultraschall-gestützte Modifikation von Hydroxylapatit und die Synthese von Kompositen mit verbesserten Materialeigenschaften öffnen sich vielfältige neue Möglichkeiten (s. Beispiele unten).

Beispiele aus der Praxis:

Synthese von Nano-HAp

In der Studie von Poinern et al. (2009) wurde das Hielscher Ultraschallgerät UP50H erfolgreich für die Sono-Synthese von HAp benutzt. Mit zunehmendem Ultraschall-Energieeintrag verringerte sich die Partikelgröße der HAp-Kristalle. Es wurde nanostrukturiertes Hydroxylapatit (HAp) mittels ultraschall-gestützter nasschemischer Füllungsreaktion produziert. Ca(NO3) und KH25PO4 dienten als Ausgangsstoffe und NH3 wurde als Ausfällpräparat eingesetzt. Durch die hydrothermale Ausfällung mit Ultraschall konnten nano-skalige HAp-Partikel mit sphärischer Morphologie im Nanobereich von ca. 30nm ± 5 % hergestellt werden. Poinern und seine Kollegen haben gezeigt, dass die Ultraschall-gestützte Hydrothermalsynthese eine ökonomische Methode ist, die einfach zur kommerziellen Produktion hochskaliert werden kann.

Synthese von Gelantine-Hydroxylapatit (Gel-HAp)

Brundavanam und seine Kollegen haben mittels Ultraschall eine Gelantine-Hydroxylapatit (Gel-HAp) Zusammensetzung hergestellt. Für die Herstellung des Gelantine-Hydroxylapatits wurde 1g Gelatine bei 40°C vollständig in 1000 mL MilliQ Wasser aufgelöst. Daraufhin wurden 2mL der vorbereiteten Gelatine-Lösung zu der Ca2+/NH3 -Mischung hinzugefügt. Die Mischung wurde mit einem UP50H Ultrasonicator (50W, 30kHz) beschallt. Während der Beschallung wurden 60ml 0,19M KH2PO4 tropfenweise hinzugefügt.
Die gesamte Lösung wurde für 1 Stunde sondiert. Der pH-Wert wurde jederzeit überprüft und auf pH 9 gehalten und das Ca/P-Verhältnis auf 1,67 eingestellt. Die Filtration des weißen Niederschlags erfolgte durch Zentrifugation, was zu einer dicken Aufschlämmung führte. Verschiedene Proben wurden in einem Rohrofen für 2 Stunden bei Temperaturen von 100, 200, 300 und 400°C wärmebehandelt. Dabei wurde ein Gel-HAp-Pulver in granularer Form erhalten, das zu einem feinen Pulver gemahlen wurde und durch XRD, FE-SEM und FT-IR gekennzeichnet ist. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass eine milde Ultraschallbildung und das Vorhandensein von Gelatine während der Wachstumsphase des HAp eine geringere Adhäsion fördern - was zu einer kleineren und gleichmäßig kugelförmigen Form der Gel-HAp-Nanopartikel führt. Die milde Ultraschallbehandlung unterstützt die Synthese von nanogroßen Gel-HAp-Partikeln durch Ultraschall-Homogenisierungseffekte. Die Amid- und Carbonylarten aus der Gelatine binden sich anschließend während der Wachstumsphase über eine sonochemisch unterstützte Interaktion an die HAp-Nanopartikel.
[Brundavanam et al. 2011]

Abscheiden von HAp auf Titanplättchen

Ozhukil Kollatha et al. (2013) haben Titanplättchen mit Hydroxylapatit beschichtet. Vor dem Abscheiden wurde die HAp-Suspension mit mit einem UP400S (400 Watt Ultraschallgerät mit Ultraschallhorn H14, Sonorisierungsdauer 40 Sek. bei 75 % Amplitude) beschallt.

Silber-beschichtetes HAp

Ignatev hat mit seiner Forschergruppe (2013) eine biosynthetische Methode entwickelt, bei der Silber-Nanopartikel (AgNp) auf HAp angelagert wurden, um den eine HAp-Partikeln durch die Silber-Beschichtung antibakterielle Eigenschaften zu verleihen und die zytotoxische Wirkung zu verringern. Für die Desagglomeration der Silber-Nanopartikel und für ihre Anlagerung auf den Hydroxylapatit wurde das Hielscher Ultraschallgerät UP400S verwendet.

Ignatev und seine Mitarbeiter verwendet, um die Ultraschallsonde artige Vorrichtung UP400S für die silberbeschichteten HAp-Produktion.

Ein Aufbau mit Magnetrührer und Ultraschallgerät UP400S für die Herstellung von silber-beschichteten HAp-Partikeln [Ignatev et al. 2013]


Unsere leistungsstarken Ultraschallgeräte sind zuverlässige Werkzeuge, um Partikel im submikron- und nanoskaligen Bereich zu verarbeiten. Egal ob Sie Partikel im Laborgefäß oder im kommerziellen Maßstab synthetisieren, dispergieren oder funktionalisieren wollen – Hielscher bietet Ihnen das passende Ultraschalgerät, das zu Ihren Anforderungen passt!

UP400S mit Ultraschallreaktor

Ultraschallhomogenisator UP400S


Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Literatur

  • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
  • Cengiz, B.; Gokce, Y.; Yildiz, N.; Aktas, Z.; Calimli, A. (2008): Synthese und Charakterisierung von Hydroyapatit-Nanopartikeln. Kolloide und Oberflächen A: Physicochem. Eng. Aspekte 322; 2008. 29-33.
  • Ignatev, M.; Rybak, T.; Colonges, G.; Scharff, W.; Marke, S. (2013): Plasma Sprayed Hydroxyapatite Coatings with Silver Nanoparticles. Acta Metallurgica Slovaca, 19/1; 2013. 20-29.
  • Jevtića, M.; Radulovićc, A.; Ignjatovića, N.; Mitrićb, M.; Uskoković, D. (2009): Controlled assembly of poly(d,l-lactide-co-glycolide)/ hydroxyapatite core–shell nanospheres under ultrasonic irradiation. Acta Biomaterialia 5/ 1; 2009. 208–218.
  • Kusrini, E.; Pudjiastuti, A. R.; Astutiningsih, S.; Harjanto, S. (2012): Preparation of Hydroxyapatite from Bovine Bone by Combination Methods of Ultrasonic and Spray Drying. Intl. Conf. on Chemical, Bio-Chemical and Environmental Sciences (ICBEE’2012) Singapore, December 14-15, 2012.
  • Manafi, S.; Badiee, S.H. (2008): Effect of Ultrasonic on Crystallinity of Nano-Hydroxyapatite via Wet Chemical Method. Ir J Pharma Sci 4/2; 2008. 163-168
  • Ozhukil Kollatha, V.; Chenc, Q.; Clossetb, R.; Luytena, J.; Trainab, K.; Mullensa, S.; Boccaccinic, A. R.; Clootsb, R. (2013): AC vs. DC Electrophoretic Deposition of Hydroxyapatite on Titanium. Journal of the European Ceramic Society 33; 2013. 2715–2721.
  • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermischer und Ultraschall-Einfluss bei der Bildung von Hydroxylapatit-Biokeramik im Nanometerbereich. Internationales Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthese und Charakterisierung von Nanohydroxyapatit unter Verwendung eines ultraschallunterstützten Verfahrens. Ultraschall-Sonochemie, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
  • Soypan, I.; Mel, M.; Ramesh, S.; Khalid, K.A: (2007): Porous hydroxyapatite for artificial bone applications. Science and Technology of Advanced Materials 8. 2007. 116.
  • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.

Die Ultraschall-Geräte für Benchtop und Produktion wie die UIP1500hd bieten volle Industriequalität.

Ultraschallgerät UIP1500hd mit Durchflussreaktor

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Sono-Synthesis of Nano-Hydroxyapatite

Hydroxyapatite (HA or HAp) is a highly frequented bioactive ceramic for medical purposes due to its similar structure to bone material. The ultrasonically assisted synthesis (sono-synthesis) of hydroxyapatite is a successful technique to produce nanostructured HAp at highest quality standards. The ultrasonic route allows to produce nano-crystalline HAp as well as modified particles, e.g. core-shell nanospheres, and composites.

Hydroxyapatite: A Versatile Mineral

Hydroxylapatite or hydroxyapatite (HAp, also HA) is a naturally occurring mineral form of calcium apatite with the formula Ca5(PO4)3(OH). To denote that the crystal unit cell comprises two entities, it is usually written Ca10(PO4)6(OH)2. Hydroxylapatite is the hydroxyl endmember of the complex apatite group. The OH- ion can be replaced by fluoride, chloride or carbonate, producing fluorapatite or chlorapatite. It crystallizes in the hexagonal crystal system. HAp is known as bone material as up to 50 wt% of bone is a modified form of hydroxyapatite.
In medicine, nanostructured porous HAp is an interesting material for artifical bone application. Due to its good biocompatibility in bone contact and its similar chemical composition to bone material, porous HAp ceramic has found enormous use in biomedical applications including bone tissue regeneration, cell proliferation, and drug delivery.
„In bone tissue engineering it has been applied as filling material for bone defects and augmentation, artificial bone graft material, and prosthesis revision surgery. Its high surface area leads to excellent osteoconductivity and resorbability providing fast bone ingrowth.“ [Soypan et al. 2007] So, many modern implants are coated with hydroxylapatite.
Another promising application of microcrystalline hydroxylapatite is its use as “bone-building” supplement with superior absorption in comparison to calcium.
Beside its use as repair material for bone and teeth, other applications of HAp can be found in catalysis, fertilizer production, as compound in pharmaceutical products, in protein chromatography applications, and water treatment processes.

Power Ultrasound: Effects and Impact

Sonication is decribed as a process where an acoustic field is used, which is coupled to a liquid medium. The ultrasound waves propagate in the liquid and produce alternating high pressure/ low pressure cycles (compression and rarefaction). During the rarefaction phase emerge small vaccum bubbles or voids in the liquid, which grow over various high pressure/ low pressure cycles until the bubble cannot absorb no more energy. At this phase, the bubbles implodes violently during a compression phase. During such bubble collapse a large amount of energy is released in form of a shock waves, high temperatures (approx. 5,000K) and pressures (approx. 2,000atm). Furthermore, these „hot spots“ are characterized by very high cooling rates. The implosion of the bubble also results in liquid jets of up to 280m/s velocity. This phenomenon is termed cavitation.
When these extreme forces, which are generated during the collapse oft he cavitation bubbles, expand in the sonicated medium, particles and droplets are affected – resulting in interparticle collision so that the solid shatter. Thereby, particle size reduction such as milling, deagglomeration, and dispersion are achieved. The particles can be diminuted to submicron- and nano-size.
Beside of the mechanical effects, the powerful sonication can create free radicals, shear molecules, and activate particles surfaces. These phenomenon is known as sonochemistry.

Sono-Synthesis

An ultrasonic treatment of the slurry results in very fine particles with even distribution so that more nucleation sites for precipitation are created.
HAp particles synthesized under ultrasonication show a decreased level of agglomeration. The lower tendency to agglomeration of ultrasonically synthesized HAp was confirmed e.g. by FESEM (Field Emission Scanning Electron Microscopy) analysis of Poinern et al. (2009).

Ultrasound assists and promotes chemical reactions by ultrasonic cavitation and its physical effects that directly influence particle morphology during the growth phase. The main benefits of ultrasonication resulting the preparation of superfine reaction mixtures are

  • 1) increased reaction speed,
  • 2) decreased processing time
  • 3) an overall improvement in the efficient use of energy.

Poinern et al. (2011) developed a wet-chemical route that uses calcium nitrate tetrahydrate (Ca[NO3]2 · 4H2O) and potassium dihydrogen phosphate (KH2PO4) as main reactants. For control of the pH value during the synthesis, ammonium hydroxide (NH4OH) was added.
The ultrasound processor was an UP50H (50 W, 30 kHz, MS7 Sonotrode w/ 7 mm diameter) from Hielscher Ultrasonics.

Steps of nano-HAP synthesis:

A 40 mL solution of 0.32M Ca(NO3)2 · 4H2O was prepared in a small beaker. The solution pH was then adjusted to 9.0 with approximately 2.5mL NH4OH. The solution was sonicated with the UP50H at 100% amplitude setting for 1 hour.
At the end of the first hour a 60 mL solution of 0.19M [KH2PO4] was then slowly added dropwise into the first solution while undergoing a second hour of ultrasonic irradiation. During the mixing process, the pH value was checked and maintained at 9 while the Ca/P ratio was maintained at 1.67. The solution was then filtered using centrifugation (~2000 g), after which the resultant white precipitate was proportioned into a number of samples for heat treatment.
The presence of ultrasound in the synthesis procedure prior to the thermal treatment has a significant influence in forming the initial nano-HAP particle precursors. This is due to the particle size being related to nucleation and the growth pattern of the material, which in turn is related to the degree of super saturation within the liquid phase.
In addition, both the particle size and its morphology can be directly influenced during this synthesis process. The effect of increasing the ultrasound power from 0 to 50W showed that it was possible to decrease the particle size prior to thermal treatment.
The increasing ultrasound power used to irradiate the liquid indicated that greater numbers of bubbles/cavitations were being produced. This in turn produced more nucleation sites and as a result the particles formed around these sites are smaller. Furthermore, particles exposed to longer periods of ultrasonic irradiation show less agglomeration. Subsequent FESEM data has confirmed the reduced particle agglomeration when ultrasound is used during the synthesis process.
Nano-HAp particles in the nanometer size range and spherical morphology were produced using a wet chemical precipitation technique in the presence of ultrasound. It was found that the crystalline structure and morphology of the resulting nano-HAP powders was dependent upon the power of the ultrasonic irradiation source and the subsequent thermal treatment used. It was evident that the presence of ultrasound in the synthesis process promoted the chemical reactions and physical effects that subsequently produced the ultrafine nano- HAp powders after thermal treatment.

Continuous ultrasonication with a glass flow cell

Sonication in an ultrasonic reactor chamber

Meet Hielscher at the 3rd International Electronic Conference on Medicinal Chemistry

3rd International Electronic Conference on Medicinal Chemistry

Hydroxyapatite:

  • main inorganic calcium phosphate mineral
  • high biocompatibility
  • slow biodegradability
  • osteoconductive
  • non-toxic
  • non-immunogenic
  • can be combined with polymers and/ or glass
  • good absorption structure matrix for other molecules
  • excellent bone substitute

  • Ultrasonic homogenizers are powerful tools to synthesize and functionalize particles, such as HAp

    Probe-type ultrasonicator UP50H

    HAp Synthesis via Ultrasonic Sol-Gel Route

    Ultrasonically assisted sol-gel route for the synthesis of nanostructured HAp particles:
    Material:
    – reactants: Calcium nitrate Ca(NO3)2, di-ammonium hydrogen phosphate (NH4)2HPO4, Sodium hydroxyd NaOH ;
    – 25 ml test tube

    1. Dissolve Ca(NO3)2 and (NH4)2HPO4 in distilled water (molar ratio calcium to phosphorous: 1.67)
    2. Add some NaOH to the solution to keep its pH around 10.
    3. Ultrasonic treatment with an UP100H (sonotrode MS10, amplitude 100%)
  • The hydrothermal syntheses were conducted at 150°C for 24 h in an electric oven.
  • After the reaction, crystalline HAp can be harvested by centrifugation and washing with deionized water.
  • Analysis of the obtained HAp nanopowder by microscopy (SEM, TEM,) and/ or spectroscopy (FT-IR). The synthesized HAp nanoparticles show high crystallinity. Different morphology can be observed depending on the sonication time. Longer sonication can lead to uniform HAp nanorods with a high aspect ratio and ultra-high crystallinity. [cp. Manafi et al. 2008]
  • Modification of HAp

    Due to its brittleness, the application of pure HAp is limited. In material research, many efforts have been made to modify HAp by polymers since the natural bone is a composite mainly consisted of nano-sized, needle-like HAp crystals (accounts for about 65wt% of bone). The ultrasonically assisted modification of HAp and synthesis of composites with improved material characteristics offers manifold possibilities (see a few examples below).

    Practical Examples:

    Synthesis of nano-HAp

    In the study of Poinern et al. (2009), a Hielscher UP50H probe-type ultrasonicator was successfully used for the sono-synthesis of HAp. With increase of ultrasound energy, the particles size of the HAp crystallites decreased. Nanostructured hydroxyapatite (HAp) was prepared by an ultrasonically assisted wet-precipitation technique. Ca(NO3) and KH25PO4 werde used as the main material and NH3 as the precipitator. The hydrothermal precipitation under ultrasonic irradiation resulted in nano-sized HAp particles with a spherical morphology in the nano metre size range (approx. 30nm ± 5%). Poinern and co-workers found the sono-hydrothermal synthesis a economic route with strong scale-up capability to commercial production.

    Synthesis of gelantine-hydroxyapatite (Gel-HAp)

    Brundavanam and co-workers have successfully prepared a gelantine-hydroxyapatite (Gel-HAp) composite under mild sonication conditions. For the preparation of gelantine-hydroxyapatite, 1g of gelatine has been completely dissolved in 1000mL MilliQ water at 40°C. 2mL of the prepared gelatine solution was then added to the Ca2+/NH3 mixture. The mixture was sonicated with an UP50H ultrasonicator (50W, 30kHz). During the sonication, 60mL of 0.19M KH2PO4 were drop-wisely added to the mixture.
    The whole solution was sonicated for 1h. The pH value was checked and maintained at pH 9 at all times and the Ca/P ratio was adjusted to 1.67. Filtration of the white precipitate was achieved by centrifugation, resulting in a thick slurry. Different samples were heat-treated in a tube furnace for 2h at a temperatures of 100, 200, 300 and 400°C. Thereby, a Gel–HAp powder in granular form were obtained, which was grinded to a fine powder and characterized by XRD, FE-SEM and FT-IR. The results show that mild ultrasonication and presence of gelatine during the growth phase of the HAp promote lower adhesion – thereby resulting in a smaller and forming a regular spherical shape of the Gel–HAp nano-particles. The mild sonication assists the synthesis of nano-sized Gel–HAp particles due to ultrasonic homogenization effects. The amide and carbonyl species from the gelatine subsequently attach to the HAp nano-particles during the growth phase via sonochemically assisted interaction.
    [Brundavanam et al. 2011]

    Deposition of HAp on Titanium Platelets

    Ozhukil Kollatha et al. (2013) have coated Ti plates with hydroxyapatite. Before the deposition, the HAp suspension was homogenized with an UP400S (400 watts ultrasonic device with ultrasonic horn H14, sonication time 40 sec. at 75% amplitude).

    Silver Coated HAp

    Ignatev and co-workers (2013) developed a biosynthetic method where silver nanoparticles (AgNp) were deposited on HAp to obtain a HAp coating with antibacterial properties and to decrease the cytotoxic effect. For the deagglomeration of the silver nanoparticles and for their sedimentation on the hydroxyapatite, a Hielscher UP400S was used.
    Ignatev and his co-workers used the ultrasonic probe-type device UP400S for the silver-coated HAp production.

    A setup of magnetic stirrer and ultrasonicator UP400S was used for the silver-coated Hap preparation [Ignatev et al 2013]


    Our powerful ultrasonic devices are reliable tools to treat particles in the sub micron- and nano-sized range. Whether you want to synthesize, disperse or functionalize particles in small tubes for research purpose or you need to treat high volumes of nano-powder slurries for commercial production – Hielscher offers the suitable ultrasonicator for your requirements!
    UP400S with ultrasonic reactor

    Ultrasonic homogenizer UP400S


    Contact Us / Ask for more Information

    Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.





    Please note our privacy policy.


    Literature/References

    • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
    • Cengiz, B.; Gokce, Y.; Yildiz, N.; Aktas, Z.; Calimli, A. (2008): Synthesis and characterization of hydroyapatite nanoparticles. Colloids and Surfaces A: Physicochem. Eng. Aspects 322; 2008. 29-33.
    • Ignatev, M.; Rybak, T.; Colonges, G.; Scharff, W.; Marke, S. (2013): Plasma Sprayed Hydroxyapatite Coatings with Silver Nanoparticles. Acta Metallurgica Slovaca, 19/1; 2013. 20-29.
    • Jevtića, M.; Radulovićc, A.; Ignjatovića, N.; Mitrićb, M.; Uskoković, D. (2009): Controlled assembly of poly(d,l-lactide-co-glycolide)/ hydroxyapatite core–shell nanospheres under ultrasonic irradiation. Acta Biomaterialia 5/ 1; 2009. 208–218.
    • Kusrini, E.; Pudjiastuti, A. R.; Astutiningsih, S.; Harjanto, S. (2012): Preparation of Hydroxyapatite from Bovine Bone by Combination Methods of Ultrasonic and Spray Drying. Intl. Conf. on Chemical, Bio-Chemical and Environmental Sciences (ICBEE’2012) Singapore, December 14-15, 2012.
    • Manafi, S.; Badiee, S.H. (2008): Effect of Ultrasonic on Crystallinity of Nano-Hydroxyapatite via Wet Chemical Method. Ir J Pharma Sci 4/2; 2008. 163-168
    • Ozhukil Kollatha, V.; Chenc, Q.; Clossetb, R.; Luytena, J.; Trainab, K.; Mullensa, S.; Boccaccinic, A. R.; Clootsb, R. (2013): AC vs. DC Electrophoretic Deposition of Hydroxyapatite on Titanium. Journal of the European Ceramic Society 33; 2013. 2715–2721.
    • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
    • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermal and ultrasonic influence in the formation of nanometer scale hydroxyapatite bio-ceramic. International Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
    • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthesis and characterisation of nanohydroxyapatite using an ultrasound assisted method. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
    • Soypan, I.; Mel, M.; Ramesh, S.; Khalid, K.A: (2007): Porous hydroxyapatite for artificial bone applications. Science and Technology of Advanced Materials 8. 2007. 116.
    • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.

    Ultrasonic devices for bench-top and production such as the UIP1500hd provide full industrial grade.

    Ultrasonic device UIP1500hd with flow-through reactor